A Bittersweet Thanksgiving

Hey everyone, and Happy Thanksgiving for those of you who are celebrating it today! Smile Sorry I didn’t post yesterday- I got back late from a concert, so I took a packed dinner:DSC04024

Wholewheat noodles in soy sauce, with tofu and courgette (zucchini), which made a great, filling dinner  that took less than 10 minutes to throw together!

And when I got back later, I snacked on an apple and cinnamon yoghurt mess:DSC04027

Apple and cinnamon complemented this season perfectly! Thanks for all your comments on Tuesday’s post by the way- it seems as though the majority agree with me in thinking that autumn/fall is the best food season! Smile

Breakfast today was pumpkin oatmeal with the last remainders of my open can of pumpkin. I have many more cans,  but am trying not to go through them too fast as I am very miserly (they aren’t cheap!), so sadly it may be a while before it returns! Sad smile Well actually, it probably won’t be that long- self control was never one of my strong points! Smile with tongue outDSC04029

That miniscule  blob was all that was left in the tin! Still made it lovely and pumpkiny though! Open-mouthed smile All stirred in and topped with a crumbled pumpkin cookie:DSC04001

Today sadly was my uncle Raj’s funeral. If you didn’t know, my fit+healthy uncle Raj died suddenly of a heart attack two weeks ago aged just 48. The funeral was very sad, but it was great talking to everyone at the reception and hearing all their funny stories about him! He was such a joker! Open-mouthed smile The funeral programme:DSC04045

He shared my love of running, and was actually running when he had his first heart attack a few days before the second one that killed him. He also shared my love of food, so they made sure that the funeral reception had lots of his favourite foods. The buffet included these cute mini quiches:DSC04033

And these cupcakes:DSC04032

DSC04034

I had a ton of savoury food (quiches galore!), so by the time they brought out the cupcakes, I was too stuffed to eat them! But my brother made up for me by eaing three, and I did enjoy quite a bit of my delicious pumpkin gingerbread a few hours later when I got back home! Smile with tongue out

Also, this was waiting for me when I got home:DSC04035

A package! And y’all know how much I love packages! Open-mouthed smileDSC04036

I knew it would  be my protein powder that I ordered a few days ago before I opened it, but I was in for a bit of a surprise!DSC04037

Soya protein? I thought I ordered pea protein?

DSC04038

Nope, looks as though I accidently ordered soya protein instead! As  I had had some stomach issues with soya milk, I had decided to go for the pea protein, but as I can’t really be bothered to send it back and get the right one, I think I’ll just try this and see how I feel! So it called for a quick Protein Green Monster:DSC04039

Oat milk, pear, spinach, xanthan gum, cinnamon and protein powder, all blended:DSC04041

Wasn’t quite sweet enough for me- had to add some agave. The stomach’s feeling fine at the moment, but we’ll see later! Hopefully there’ll  be no problem Smile

So what are you thankful for today? I’m thankful that Raj’s life was one filled with happiness and joy, and that his wife and children know how very much he loved them. Better to live a short but happy life than a long and unfulfilling one, right?

“Every man dies.  Not every man really lives.”  <—— So make sure you do! Smile

11 Responses

  1. oh sweetie – I am so very sorry to hear about your uncle :( MY thoughts are with you and yoru family xx

  2. Sorry to hear about your uncle- at least you gave him a good send off, and like you say, he lived his life.
    I am very thankful for friends and family :)

  3. I’m sorry to hear about your uncle. Although his life was short it sounds like he lived it to its fullest. Keep smiling!

  4. I am so sorry to hear about your uncle! He looked so healthy in the picture you showed of him…this is so sad.

    Keep your fingers crossed with the soy protein….Soy can be very hard to digest I just read which is probably why you had the tummy issues before ;)

    Pea protein is very nice, I really enjoy it!

    xxoo

    • Thank you. That was the shock- that he was so young and healthy :(
      Yeah, I had a bit of a funny tummy after the soy protein, but with only one scoop it isn’t bad at all. Thanks for the advice, and I’ll definitely make sure I order the pea next time! :P

  5. That’s a great quote.

    Today I am thankful for my friends, who I don’t get to see nearly enough, but when I do, it feels like it was just last week. I am also thankful for my health, and the fact that I have the opportunity to look after it in the way that I do.

  6. yumm a pumpkin cookie on oats! that sounds amazingg!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

