Vegan Vanilla cupcakes with Lemon Buttercream

Doesn’t that sound amazing? Check it out:DSC04612

Vegan Vanilla Cupcakes with Lemon Buttercream (adapted from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World)

Cupcakes:

  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1 tsp vinegar (apple cider is recommended by the book, but I didn’t have any so just used normal/malt)
  • 1.25 cups plain/all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp cornflour/cornstarch
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup vegan margarine, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp almond/caramel/other extract, or more vanilla if you prefer

Frosting

  • 1/4 cup shortening/vegetable fat
  • 1/4 cup vegan margarine, softened
  • 2 cups icing/confectioner’s sugar
  • 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp finely grated lemon zest
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 180C/350F and line a muffin pan with cupcake liners.*
  2. Whisk soy milk with vinegar and set aside for at least a few minutes to curdle.
  3. Sift flour, cornflour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a large bowl and mix together.
  4. Cream together the margarine and sugar in a seperate bowl on medium speed for no more than two minutes, until light and fluffy. Then beat in the extracts, and then alternate beating in the curdled milk mixture and dry ingredients, scraping the sides of the bowl as needed.
  5. Fill the cupcake liners two-thirds of the way and bake for approx 20-22 mins till lightly golden and done. Transfer to a cooling rack and leave to cool completely before frosting.
  6. Buttercream: In a small bowl, cream together the shortening and margarine, then add the sugar in roughly 1/2 cup additions. After each addition of sugar, add a splash of lemon juice and beat well with a electric handheld mixer. Add the vanilla and zest and beat for a few more minutes until smooth, creamy and fluffy. Wrap tightly with plastic wrap and place in the fridge until ready to use. Then pipe away and decorate to your heart’s content! Or just slather on. Whatever floats your boat! Smile with tongue out
  7. Enjoy! Open-mouthed smile

*I used muffin liners, as I didn’t have any cupcake liners. I found muffin liners didn’t work as well- they didn’t make as many for a start! Next time, I would either use the recommended liners or bun/small cake cases.

Because I used  muffin cases, mine only made 9 instead of 12:DSC04585

Making the buttercream is just the best bit ever!DSC04604

DSC04605Mmm…frosting…DSC04603

Seriously though, don’t even try to steal my spatula-  licking it clean is my job!DSC04576

The beautiful finished product:DSC04610

Stevie Wonder’s ‘Isn’t She Lovely’ is playing right now…DSC04611

And two cupcakes later, I was a very happy girl! Open-mouthed smile

This weekend, I’m going to be baking some Christmas gingerbread cookies. So while I was baking today, I was having a very tough internal debate, that really made me question who I am: Am I a Cookie Girl or a Cake Girl? See I would say both normally, but if I had to pick? I might have to go with cookies…argh but too hard to decide, especially after two of these beauties!

So weigh in: are you a cupcake or cookie person?

Have a great Friday tomorrow! Smile

13 Responses

  1. Ahhh I’m like you, I want to say both… I think if I had to pick I would be a cupcake girl though!

  2. CUPCAKES all the way! but I will happily enjoy both! :)
    Have an awesome weekend chica!
    xoxo!

  3. No question about it- I’m a cake girl!

  4. Those are TOO CUTE :) I think cookies are great because they’re portable but a well made cupcake will always win my heart :)

  5. Definitely cookies…I always get cravings to bake cookies (basically for the cookie dough!) Cake is alright once in a while – for birthdays and stuff. But I may have to try these beautiful vegan cupcakes!

  6. oh wow!! i am a cookie person but i LOVE frosting!

  7. I am a cookie girl (despite my blog name haha). I do like a cupcake now and the for a treat, but I am better at making cookies, and they go better with tea :)
    They look so pretty by the way

  8. Those cupcakes look amazing – and such a straightforward recipe! I may have to buy that book to go with my vegan cookies book. I would be so hard pressed to choose between cookies and cupcakes but cookies may just edge it ;-)

  9. It’s impossible to decide between the two. I’m gunna have to sit out of this vote I’m afraid! :)

  10. OH these look amazing!!
    vegan? they must be healthy then! hahah

  11. I want to try a vegan cupcake! I’m so curious! It doesn’t seem too too different from normal cupcakes! It’s just hard for us to find Earth Balance! I live in the southern US where healthy eating is NOT a priority, at all. It’s not surprise to me at all that Alabama and Louisiana are 2 of the most obese states.

  12. [...] Contact ← Vegan Vanilla cupcakes with Lemon Buttercream [...]

  13. I really wouldn’t turn either down, but my huge weakness is CAKE!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

