I. Hate. Snow.

Well, my plans for today were shaken up a lot by the arrival of more snow! I had planned to go to an early morning BodyPump, but having woken up to this sight, I knew I wouldn’t be able to get there:DSC04646

DSC04647

Those are abandoned cars and buses you can just about see! I live on a main road, right on the top of a steep hill, so I think these people (wisely!) chose not to try and go down it!

Also, because of the snow, I received an email from Amazon this morning, saying that because of the weather, they cannot guarantee my order will be here before Christmas, but they ‘hope’ it will be! Well ME TOO AMAZON, ME TOO! Confused smile

So I had a completely unproductive morning, spent pottering around, watching Gilmore Girl reruns on TV, and avoiding all forms of work. Whilst eating constantly of course! Smile with tongue out Mainly this delicious stuff…DSC04497

…that I’ve almost finished! Definitely an excuse to hit Whole Foods again soon I think! Smile with tongue out

I don’t know why the Snack Monster was out this morning, especially since I had a filling, yummy breakfast, but hey, I’m all about the intuitive eating! If my body wants food, I gotta please it! Winking smile

Breakfast was a repeat of yesterdays: apple and cinnamon oatmeal.DSC04629

DSC04630

How-to:1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup coconut or other milk, 1/2 cup water and 1/2 chopped apple heated on medium heat in a small pan on the stove top until thick and bubbling! And try not to make such a mess like I always do!DSC04626

Oats everywhere! Smile with tongue out

Later in the afternoon, it finally stopped snowing!DSC04648

Our road was still clogged up with the abandoned vehicles, so I decided to walk to the gym to get in a quick workout! Turned out getting to and from the gym took more time than I actually spent in there! I was all jazzed up for my workout, when I realised I had made the rookie mistake of leaving behind the water bottle that I take with me everywhere! So I ended up paying for the gym’s ridiculously overpriced water, and was not a happy bunny!

DSC04663

However, a combination of my sweaty workout (I did quite a bit of weights as well as some cardio to make up for the missed BodyPump!) and finding a surprise on my camera case cheered me up!DSC04655

A ladybird! I love them! Smile

Post workout snackage included a PB rice cake sandwichDSC04653

…and an Apple Pie Nakd barDSC04658

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I think this is my new favourite flavour. Yes, even better than the chocolate one! Surprised smile

I was supposed to be going out to a restaurant for a Christmas meal this evening, but it was postponed because of the snow. Sad smile But I made up for it (a bit!) by having a yummy dinner of ‘saag aloo’ (an Indian dish with potatoes and spinach), which was delicious…indian1_sag_aloo

…and watching Slumdog Millionaire for the second time! Great film!slumdog-millionaire-poster

Tomorrow morning, I am going to test the waters and see if it is possible to run outside! Seeing as I almost slipped right over today, and I was just walking, I’m not getting my hopes up about a successful run, but wish me luck! Smile

I’m also going to be doing some baking, so stay tuned! Open-mouthed smile 

Do you have/have you had snow where you live? And what do you believe about ‘intuitive eating’? Its been all over the blogworld recently, so I’d love to hear your opinions on it!

Hope you’re having a great weekend!

20 Responses

  1. I’ve never had snow here, but I want it! Although I probably wouldn’t like it if I couldn’t go places when it snowed. I’m working on intuitive eating- it’s hard, because I have no problem eating when I’m full!

    • I can’t believe you’ve never had snow! That’s madness! :P Snow is pretty, but yes is definitely a pain when you can’t get out!
      It is hard, but I try to ignore what my brain is telling me and just focus on what my body wants. But its different for everyone, and I’m sure you’ll get there! :)

  2. I have been stuck inside too cause of the cold/snowy weather and have just had major snack attacks all day while watching Jersey Shore marathons. I LOVE indian food!

    • Yeah, the weather sucks when it keeps you indoors :( Haha sounds like we had a pretty similar day then!
      And Indian food is awesome! My mum’s Indian, so although she doesn’t cook for me a lot, when she does, it’s a real treat! :)

  3. I’m an intuitive eater for sure! The trick is to listen to your body and know when it’s really “Hunger” as opposed to thirst or nerves. When it’s the real-deal hunger, I head straight to the kitchen :P What body wants, body gets!
    Oh and where I live we have lots of snow! It’s supposed to snow non-stop all week!!

    • I’ll try to remember that! I’m getting better at the whold ‘intuitive eating’ thing, but I’m not quite there yet!
      Poor you! We’re sposed to have quite a lot of snow this week too, so we’ll suffer together! :P

  4. i HATE THE SNOW TOO! such nuisance! i had such an unproductive DAY

  5. Yep, there’s a tun of snow in North London! Intuitive eating. Weeeeell. I think it’s a great idea in principle, but all sorts of things can get in the way of that. When I’m stressed, I commonly under- or over-eat, for example. In those situations, my intuitions are whacked, and my thinking side needs to kick in and plan. So I think eating more if you’re genuinely hungry is a good idea. But if it’s more just a craving to eat (or not..), then intuitions aren’t always the best guide…

    Fingers crossed for Amazon.. :)

  6. Bah, the snow sucks for everyone. Hope it clears for you soon – we’ve been putting up with it since the end of November up North.

    Intuitive eating is a great concept, but one I have no idea how to put into practice because it’s so vague. And separating when I’m truly hungry from when I’m emotionally hungry is very difficult…plus there’s all that ‘RDA calorie’ info floating around in my head whereby if I go over a certain amount then I can’t logically be hungry even if I think I am. Oy!

    • Oh I feel bad moaning about it now! I forgot how much worse it is in other places! :P
      Yeah I’m kinda the same with the whole intuitive eating vs calorie amount thing, but I’m trying to focus on the intuitive side now, but it’s hard! :P

  7. Yes the snow scuppered my holiday plans :( it is so annoying. The pavements are bad here too so will be confined to exercise dvds. I am better at intutive eating except when I get upset or very stressed, then I either eat too much, or nothing. So it doenst work then!
    Fingers crossed for the amazin order :)

    • I read about that on your blog, and was sorry to hear it! :(
      Exercise DVDs are SUCH a livesaver when the weather’s like this!
      I agree- when I’m upset or stressed, intutive eating goes right out the window! :P
      Thanks! Mine are too!

  8. Whoooa!!!! Crazy snow! We’ve only received a couple of inches so far (in DC). Where are you from?

  9. I hate the snow too!! I work in a supermarket, and on Friday there was only two if us on tills, which wasn’t fun! And then yesterday at work we didn’t get a delivery in, and everyone was panic buying, so it was a bit of a mad house!
    I love those Apple Pie Nakd bars, but I think my favourite flavour is the chocolate orange- tastes exactly like Terry’s chocolate orange!
    And on the subject matter of inituative eating, its something I think some people have, and something I’m hopefully trying to learn!

    • Only two of you?! Poor you, that can’t have been fun!
      Sadly, I’m not a fan of the chocolate+orange combination! I haven’t tried the Nakd version, but since I’m not a fan of the flavour generally, I doubt I’ll like it!
      I agree with you! I’m still learning too! :)

  10. [...] get now is my brother’s Christmas card, and that’s it! Just have to keep my fingers crossed for that Amazon delivery [...]

  11. Only just seen this post and I’m so with you – I HATE snow too! If I never saw another flake of the evil stuff, I’d be quite happy. Grrr… :-)
    Glad your Amazon stuff arrived; I’m still waiting for mine. Might have to make some of those gingerbreads to make up for it!
    Happy Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

