Banana-coconut balls

Yesterday, I had two PB+J sandwiches.

PB_&J

This is possibly the most genius pairing of food. Ever.DSC04336

So today, I replicated this on my oatmeal.DSC06212

Heavens above, this was bliss. And so so filling! I used: 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 coconut milk, 1 cup water, ~1 tbsp PB and ~1 tbsp jam. Plus plenty of PB+J fingers! Smile with tongue out

After that delicious brekkie, I was feeling in a nut butter mood! So I created a new snack ball recipe! Open-mouthed smile

DSC06242

Banana-coconut balls (inspired by Katie’s delicious 3 ingredient peanut butter balls)

Makes 4 balls

  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1/3 cup (26g) oats
  • 2 tbsp nut butter
  • ~2 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut for rolling
  1. Mash your banana, or do what I did and give it and give it a quick whizz in the blender.
  2. Mix together your mashed banana, oats and nut butter.
  3. Spread out the coconut onto a plate, form the mixture into four balls, and roll each one in the coconut until covered.
  4. Enjoy!!

I made half a batch with smooth peanut butter, and half with Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter.DSC06239

DSC06240

Both delish, but surprisingly I think I preferred the normal PB ones…I know, who am I and what have I done with Emma?!

The finished products:

DSC06242

I love balls. And find that hilarious. Apparently I have the sense of humour of a 10 year old boy. But these are no laughing matter my friends…

SO yummy! And it is perfect pre-run (or post run) fuel! Carbs, protein and healthy fats. Smile

So fuelled by my snack balls, I headed out on my longer slow run of the week, aiming for 6 miles. Sadly, my ankle started playing up again! It wasn’t as bad as it was before, but being super-cautious I took it slow and cut my run short. I ran just under 4.5 miles in an avg 8.29 min/mile pace, and iced as soon as I got home.

DSC06235

Sweats, a bag of frozen sweecorn, a box of trail mix, and Gilmore Girls is the way to go!

It WILL be fine. I’m going to rest it tomorrow, keep my fingers crossed, pray super-hard and see how it feels

But on the upside, I did make it back alive, and with a few goodies!DSC06221

I took a completely random new route today, and came across an amazing cute little independent health store! It was fantastic! So much better than my usual Holland and Barrett store (which I still love!). It had so much stuff I’ve only seen online before and have never bought/tried, like nutritional yeast flakes and amazing cereals! Unfortunately, I obviously couldn’t fit in all that stuff in my pockets and run home, so I bought what I could!

All new stuff to me!

DSC06224

I had the Spiru-Tein straight after my run, and loved it! Tastes like a banana milkshake, but has 14g of protein! Smile And I’m definitely looking forward to trying the bar of raspberry dark chocolate!DSC06229

Clearly, stopping to shop when running is what all the cool people do.DSC06219

And I love that the people there just smiled and chatted to me about health and running, as though it was perfectly normal to turn up in a shop all sweaty and in running clothes! Gotta love health food stores! Smile And I am SO going back to get some more goodies!!

Tomorrow I will be announcing my big international giveaway, so stay tuned!! Open-mouthed smile

Have you ever stopped during a run to do something different, or discovered a new place on your run? I can’t believe there was such an amazing place just 2 miles from my house and I didn’t know about it!! And apart from my shopping today, I also have once run to and from church. Never again though- too many weird looks! They weren’t quite as understanding as the health store people! Smile with tongue out 

And tell me, what foods do you think are a match made in heaven? Got any fave unusual combos that you love that I can try? I’m up for anything!

Love you all! Have a great day! Open-mouthed smile

33 Responses

  1. I think you hit the nail on the head! pb-banana = best combo ever. You’re a yummy genius!

  2. OMG those look so good, I’m a diehard coconut fanatic!! Chocolate and peanut butter may be the best combination in the whole entire world, ever ever created…so good! But I also love vanilla soymilk and cocoapowder, also very yummy!

  3. Oh, and I totally hit up whole foods on saturdays in my workout attire…totally normal ;)

  4. Your goodies all look so good! I agree…PB & J is definitely tops :)

  5. I’ve stopped to go shopping on a run, too! It’s totally the cool thing to do :)

  6. Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Dreams is the best thing ever! Almost every day I have a giant spoonful as a pre-dinner snack!

    I am also working on my speed training, although I am convinced that I was never really meant to be a speed runner. I love the challenge of pushing myself to new limits! I am working to break a sub 23 5K.

    I just found your blog, but it looks like we have a lot in common, and I look forward to reading :)

  7. Fabulousity in this post! Love the pairing of PB & J on bread and oatmeal!! PB and Chocolate is another perfect pairing right?!

    You look adorable in your pics!!

    Can’t wait to see your giveaway!!

  8. What a great find! In the summer, I run down by the huge lake in my state, and I stop to enjoy the beach & water because it’s so beautiful. I love exploring on trails too, but sometimes, I get so lost.

  9. The Banana-coconut balls look so pretty!

  10. Banana coconut BALLS look delicious!!! :)

  11. Hey Lady! Just found your blog today! I share in your love for running! AND absolutely love PB & Js!! Ahhh they are the simplest more delectable food ever ever!! My morning only starts after I’ve had a spoonful of peanut butter!! :)

  12. i LOVE when i come across independent health stores, especially in London where they can be really tucked away! i’ve seen Spirutein but never had it so i’m gonna have to try!
    I also love PB & J. Also…cheese and strawberry jam is amaze. but i dont eat cheese any more so that’s off the menu…but goat’s cheese and blueberry jam is very good!

  13. ahh pbjs are seriously a GREAT pair.. it cannot be beat.. i mush say almond butter and banana is INSANE!!.. i have never stopped during my run for goodies– i usually go the same boring route.. but i will switich it up next time to find new places!

  14. I was just thinking today that I want to go visit/find an independent health store. There’s gotta be one around here somewhere!

  15. Never underestimate your unique SOH as it gives you the edge as a blogger(I, personally love the humour you display via your blog:)!I’m excited you’ve found a independent(yaay for the small family shops that provide a service:) gem of Health food Store just by taking a diferent route as I’ve also discovered wee independents(natural food store) this way too(Hove has a awesome:). As for that ole American classic combo it can’t be beaten(eons ago Tesco used to stock Smuckers’ peanut butter and strawberry jelly spread(it was so good I demolished the entire jar with a large loaf of wholemeal bread)!

  16. H & B used to do a peanut butter and fresh peach sarnie(I used to pop into the Camden Town branch in the morning prior to work at London Zoo) which was awesome!

  17. oh those are such a fun snack idea!

  18. I’m not a huge pb and jelly fan- jelly isn’t something I crave often (yes, I’m weird). But peanut butter sandwiches? I’d eat them all day… lol

  19. PB/banana and chocolate/pb. and pb/honey. :)

    i’ve never made those balls, but i think today might be the first day i try!

  20. YOU ARE ADORABLE!!! LOVE THE PICS OF YOU!! PB and J OATS?!?! I must have those and your coconut balls look so so good:) Best combo ever…..chips and guac!

  21. I totally agree about the PB&J oats – so good! Your PB balls look great as well. You’ve had some fab eats!

  22. Chocolate and PB has to be the best combo ever! But PB goes with so many things….
    I love it that you ran into the shop :) I would have gone back later! (But also I dont take money with me- I dont think shops take IOU’s). There is a little shop in my next town that is independent and I only discovered it earlier this year. Crazy!

  23. Sorry to hear about your ankle :( Good discovery on your run though! And where do you find the time to do all this cooking!?

  24. man, stopping to shop while running sounds AWESOME, but I’ve never had the guts to do it!

    I really should. ;)

  25. I’m with you about the word “balls” – always entertaining!
    One of my favourite combos is melted and mashed banana mixed with almond butter… bliss, and I’ve only just realised, tonight, the genius that is pb and strawberry jam… Meridian smooth and St Dalfour jam and I think I’m in love.
    I would never just have eaten a plain spoonful of each together though, never :-)

  26. The banana coconut balls look ah-mazing! Yummmm!!! So sorry to hear that your ankle is acting up. :(

  27. Those banana coconut balls look excellent!

  28. Those balls look fab! Pb and jam is an awesome combo, in fact I love pb with almost anything but with apple has to be my fave! Love that you discovered a new health store!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

