15th February = Valentine’s Day

Did ya not get the memo? Valentine’s Day is today. Well, at least I’m celebrating it today, in good old singleton fashion, aka, with FOOD! Open-mouthed smile I am so excited to share two yummy recipes  with you lovelies today!! Because it’s Valentine’s Day and I love you all.Red heart

jyt

Valentine’s Breakfast: Chocolate oatbran with strawberries.

DSC06695

Chocolate + Strawberries = match made in heaven. Cupid must have been involved there.

htr

Valentine’s Lunch: A bowl of chocolate chips with butter.

DSC06706

Are you drooling as much as I am?

 

HA no, only kidding! That was included in what I made after lunch…here’s a little clue in Spot The Difference form. Possibly the most fun game ever invented.

DSC06718

DSC06719

Did you spot the difference? Winking smile

kuif

Oh yes. I made my own chocolate peanut butter, aka Dark Chocolate Dreams!! I searched high and low for a no-added-oil peanut butter recipe, and couldn’t find one, so I just winged it anyway and it worked! Open-mouthed smile

htrs

Emma’s ‘Dark Chocolate Dreams’ (adapted from Angela’s recipe)

(Fills one 12oz jar like the one shown above)

  • 2 cups peanuts
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1.5 tsp (vegan) margarine
  • 1/8 tsp salt (optional)
  1. Place your peanuts into a food processor and process on high, stopping to scrape down the sides when necessary. It is done when the peanuts have formed a smooth, oily looking butter. For me, this took 12 minutes (incl. scraping time).
  2. Melt your chocolate chips and margarine. I zapped them in the microwave in 20 sec intervals, stopping once mostly melted. Then stir until fully melted, and add to the processor.
  3. Process the peanut butter and melted chocolate together for a few minutes until fully incorporated and smooth.
  4. Enjoy!! (For storage information see Angela’s recipe)

From this…

DSC06700

After 2 minutes

…to this…

DSC06705

After ~12 minutes

…to THIS:DSC06708

Amazingly simple!! And so much cheaper than buying the ‘real’ stuff, at least for us Brits anyway! Open-mouthed smile BUT, does it taste as good? The all-important taste test…DSC06717

A HUGE THUMBS UP! Thumbs up Tastes completely decadent, and sooo chocolaty! In case you were wondering, I washed out the DCD jar I finished yesterday, and used it to house my homemade version!

DSC06722

 

It is official. I love my new food processor more than life itself. But not more than my version of Dark Chocolate Dreams of course! That stuff is my Valentine this year! Winking smile

gtr

So do you think I ended the V-Day celebrations there? Oh no my friends, there’s more! Valentine’s Day Dinner:DSC06724

Actually, again a lil’ white lie. My dinner was a pretty standard un-Valentinesy lentil stew+rice, but dessert makes a meal anyway IMHO, and this one certainly did!

gdf

Singleton’s Strawberry Puddin’ (adapted from Animal Aid’s free vegan recipe booklet)

Serves 1, obviously!

  • 1/3 block firm silken tofu (I used Mori-Nu)
  • 4 large strawberries (approx 60g?)
  • 1.5-3 tsp agave (depends on your tastes, adjust as desired)
  1. Combine all ingredients and blend away!
  2. Chill in fridge for as long as possible, or for at least 30 mins.
  3. Top with yummy foods and enjoy!!

My toppings of choice were chocolate chips and a strawberry. Cos it’s Valentine’s Day, and that is what you eat.DSC06732

I would love to try this with other fruits like raspberries, and try adding cocoa powder for a chocolaty version! Open-mouthed smile

htrs

So I’ve really enjoyed my Valentine’s Day #2! Maybe I should make this Valentine’s month…hmm… And I seriously LOVED reading all your amazing+lovely comments yesterday, and all the awesome V-Day posts that you bloggers wrote! You are all so INSPIRATIONAL!! Smile

gegrea

And coming up soon is some v. exciting news and a hummus recipe! I love hummus almost as much as chocolate and running. Almost.

grea

What things do you love? Erm, chocolate, running, chocolate+running, hummus, and everything in life. Except tea.

gre

Did you have a foodie Valentine’s Day? Eat anything yummy you’d like to share with me and make me jealous of, hmm? I ate lots of chocolate. But hey, what’s new! Winking smile

rgea

Hope you’ve had a great V-Day and enjoy the rest of your week friends!!

35 Responses

  1. I made a VEGAN Chocolate Date Cake (in the shape of a heart), Cranberry Muffins, and Almond Cranberry Chocolate Chip Cookies. :D

    I really want to try your Dark Chocolate Dreams! :D

    Hehe, Happy Valentine’s Day! ;)

  2. No Valentine’s Day celebration is perfect without some dark chocolate dreams, homemade or bought! Actually, no day is complete with that addition :)

  3. You are a genius! That looks so good. All I need is a spoon and I’m good to go :)

  4. WOW- two recipes in one today!! I LOVE THE DCD!! i got my vegan choco chips today too- so perfecttttt and they are UBER tasty!

  5. That peanut butter sounds amazing, I need to try the recipe with almonds I think. :) (Have only used cocoa powder before not actual chocolate!)

  6. Girl, you celebrate Valentines whenever you please! :) I’m totally with you on the Valentine’s MONTH. ;)

    Oh my gracious, I could so have chocolate PB if I did this! Why have I never thought about it before? And I JUST bought some sugar free chocolate chips. I am SO excited to try this. Thanks for the idea, chica!

  7. Congrats on the peanut butter – it looks fab!
    I’m also going have to try the tofu dessert recipe – a whole new frontier for me.
    Plus, I have serious blender envy – that’s going on my birthday list (although my birthday is in August!)

  8. I had hummus in honor of you–though I didn’t make it myself. And, I added chocolate chips to these pumpkin protein muffins I made—SUPER DELISH!!

    Great job creating your OWN Choc PB!!!

  9. I love the strawberry & chocolate decorations on top, so cute!

  10. I’m totally gonna make some DCD Emma style! thanks for the great recipe sweetie!

  11. that looks AMAZING! :-D I only occasionally fork out for DCD as its soo expensive in the UK, but I think now I might have to try making this so I can have my choc pb fix more often!

  12. Love the chocolate peanut butter. It looks soooo creamy and delicious. Have you ever tried mighty maple? It’s the best, but I’ve never been able to recreate it with success!

    I had a foodie valentines day with chocolate covered strawberries and clementine muffins!

  13. That so amazing you made your own chocolate peanut butter! Hm…I love my family, my friends, all thing science fiction, the color black, basketball, the Chicago Bears, and so many other things!

  14. That is SUCH a good idea making your own chocolate pb!! I feel like that would save me soo much money not buying PB&Co every other week;) I’ll have to try your recipe when I run out…which is still 4 jars away;) Happy Feb. 15th Vday!!

  15. First off I love Chocolate & Peanut butter together and love even more that I came across your blog! :)

  16. Mmmm that looks so yum!

    I had no exciting recipes…but I did cut things into hearts to make them a little more festive, haha.

    The things of things I love is far to long. But the two things I love most are my Mama Bear and Food (specifically nut butters of all varieties) :)

  17. Yummy treats you have here! Love all the strawberries – so good!

  18. Sweet recipes! Thats soo cool you made your own peanut butter!! Looks amazing!

  19. Wow, you are quite the baker! And you don’t like tea?!

  20. “Spot the difference” actually made me laugh out loud. Your chocolate peanut butter looks gooooood….

  21. hi, sweet tooth runner! i just came across your blog and instantly connected with you when you said that you love your new food processor more than life itself. i just got one last week and it’s already changed my life. i can’t wait to make my own nut butters! and silken tofu pudding? i’ll make this tonight. done, done & done! : )

  22. Oh my gosh, the chocolate peanut butter looks incredible. YUM!!!

  23. I’ve always wanted to make my own DCD, you definitely did it! And the strawberry pudding is genius, I’m going to try that soon!

  24. Great version of dark chocolate dreams, gotta try that out!

  25. Gah, I wish I had a food processor! I was practically licking the screen.

    I love all of your Valentines food: the best I could do was to consume my bodyweight in carob ;)

    Thanks for such a sweet comment too ~ I finished off the other half of those amazing protein balls yesterday!

    xxx

  26. Home made dark chocolate dreams…girl you are heabven sent!

  27. oh, the fact that DCD can be made at home makes me want to buy a food processor! And make it every single day…

  28. [...] know something else that makes me happy? Emma posting about making chocolate peanut butter and me realizing that I can in fact have this because I can use sugar free chocolate chips to make [...]

  29. you’re such a smarty pants! I need to try making my own pb.

    I also even included a new pb discovery in my post today.. twinsies! ;)

    p.s. MUST. buy. food processor. this is getting a little ridiculous.

  30. I am LOOOOVING your Valentine’s day foods! Some of my favorite vday’s were from my single days. Good foods + good friends…and usually some good drinks ;)

  31. OMG, you made your own chocoate PB!? I might have to marry you. Be my valentine? ;)

  32. I love that you made your own DC peanut butter! So simple and yet no one seems to do it! Have you ever tried making homemade coconut butter with your food processor? I’ve read that all you have to do is literally process unsweetened coconut for X minutes and voila! Just curious if you had attempted it?

  33. If you dont love tea then there is more for me haha! :) I love tea! And teapots! And chocolate! And running! And baking! So much fun stuff :)
    Love love the recipe for DCD- this is another must try for me :)

  34. [...] believe a certain Dark Chocolate Dreams lovin’ gal put this on my mind today! Yummy, yummy, yummy I've got Chocolate PB in my [...]

  35. love the recipe!!!!
    Just tried DCD for the 1st time this week..need to make my own!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

