Exciting news!

HAPPY PB LOVERS DAY friends!! I only found out about this a few hours ago through Julie’s post, otherwise I would’ve celebrated it more, but I DID make a good effort with the little time I had…DSC07226

Exciting news #1: I made cinnamon-raisin peanut butter!DSC07227

I will officially taste-test it tomorrow, and if it passes, then expect the recipe!! And from what I’ve tried so far, it is gooood stuff!!Open-mouthed smile

gea

For me, it’s Cinnamon-Raisin Lovers Day really. Breakfast was cinnamon-raisin apple oatmeal:DSC07214

1/2 cup oat bran, 1/4 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup coconut milk, 1.25 cups water, a TON of cinnamon and lots of raisins! I added a lot more raisins to stir in and then finished off the packet. I am a dried fruit ADDICT!! It was delish! Smile

gea

So you may have seen earlier that I Tweeted about some exciting news I have to share! Even more exciting than that peanut butter!! Get excited you guys!!

gae

Exciting news #2: You may know that I have been doing a LOT of speedwork over the last few months, as I had entered a 5k trial for this Saturday that is competing for the chance to represent my London Borough in a national junior race. I filled in the application form, where you had to write down details such as a predicted race time, current top speeds for the mile, etc., have that checked and confirmed by someone, and then they would invite you to come to the trial.

ger

BUT today I got a letter saying the trial was cancelled, so they were picking people based on the times in their application…and I GOT IN!! Open-mouthed smileDSC07238

In some ways, it’s a shame, because I sorta did want to prove myself in that trial…but I now get to compete definitely and I am SO darn excited!! This means training HARD…race day is April 17th…I can’t WAIT!! Smile

gea

Training continued today with kilometre repeats. 1k x 5 @ near race pace (6.58 min/mile) with 1 min breaks inbetween.DSC07219

Was tough, but AWESOME! Followed up with half an hour on the elliptical with Women’s Running mag:DSC07220

And I got my priorities straight as far as fuelling goes!

Chocolate soya milk (15 mins after the workout) and my fave chocolateDSC07222

Yeah the Lindt choccie wasn’t actually part of the fuelling, I just had to get some because I finished my last bar (in 3 days…) and I’m addicted. Priorities people.

grea

Pre-workout I had my last PB Clif bar…booo! Sad smileDSC07099

They are the bomb. If you haven’t tried one, DO IT NOW!

fa

Exciting news #3: I’ve known this for about a week or so, and have been waiting for the opportune moment to spring it on you, but I will be running this race in October:royalparkslogo 

As part ofTeam%20Poverty%20Members%20enjoying%20hot%20tea%20and%20snacks_tcm15-50583

Team Poverty!! I will be a runner for Christian Aid’s Team Poverty! Open-mouthed smileI really felt called to apply join the team, and God answered my prayers! Although fundraising a lot of money won’t be easy, I knew it was something I have to do, and I’m so excited for it!!4103261671_98b10ceb90

I can’t wait to raise money and hopefully run a sub 1.40 (maybe even sub 1.35…?!) half! Ambitious, yes, but I’m sure I can do it with a lot of hard work! Smile

few

Have you had any exciting news lately? Or are you hoping any news comes your way? So much exciting stuff is happening, I don’t know where to start!! Tell me some stuff and make me even MORE excited!!  Open-mouthed smile

fwea

Did you know it was PB lovers day? Did you celebrate it? I didn’t know, but hey I celebrate it every day anyway! Winking smile

gea

Have you ever run a race as part of a charity team? What races have you got coming up? I’ve never run as part of a charity team before, but I did run the Cancer Research Run 10k and raised money through that. And I’m going to be doing a half before that, and a 10k Race For Life with some friends. Exciting times people!!

ger

Love you friends!! Have a great day!!

37 Responses

  1. Huge congratulations on getting into the race! You’re Speedy McSpeedster anyway so you have nothing to worry about.

    I reckon a 1:35 half could well be within your grasp: as our idol Paula says, even if you fail shooting for the moon, you’ll land among the stars.

    Loved hearing all of your wonderful news :)

    xxx

  2. I celebrated by eating PB oatmeal for brekkie and a PB&J for lunch! Oh wait….I do that everyday…
    And you are going to LOVE the 1/2 Marathon!!!!!! Best distance ever. And I think you can definitely get sub 1:40!

  3. CONGRATS, girl!!!!!! Haha at first I thought your exciting news was the pb… well, that still would’ve been exciting ;).

  4. Yay!!! Congrats on getting selected for the race!! Thats so exciting! Good luck with your training it sounds like you’re off to a great start! PB looks amazing, cant wait to hear how it turns out

  5. Congrats! You’ve already been training hard, so you deserve this spot! Plus, those shoes make you even speedier!
    I’ve never run a race as a charity, but I might join a charity group for my first marathon (maybe this fall?!) I feel like it would definitely keep me motivated and inspired during training.

  6. Congratulations, Emma! That is so exciting! You are going to do awesome at both races :)

    Also- fellow dried fruit lover here! It’s not safe around me. I totally eat it by the handful, again and again!

  7. Yeah for Peanut Butter! :D

    Congrats on being selected! :D

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  8. Oooh, it’s peanut butter lovers day?!? I MUST get on that! I still have a few hours left!

  9. Ahh well done for being selected! I bet you’re soo excited – I can’t wait to here all about it :-)
    and OH MY GOD I did NOT know it was pb lovers day! At least I had some pb in my breakfast :-) I’m about to go to sleep but I may have to go and get a cheeky pb spoon now ;-)

  10. I didn’t read about PB Lovers Day until after dinner! GAHH! Maybe I can make up for it tomorrow? ;) The PB you made sounds great!

  11. So much excitingness, congrats on EVERYTHING!! My most exciting thing is I am going to Florida on Saturday, I CAN’T WAIT!! Of course I celebrated today but much like you I celebrate everyday =).

  12. Woo Hoo! Congrats!!!! Go for the sub-135! You can do it!

  13. I heard today was Nat’l Pancake Day…had no idea about peanut butter day! I guess I celebrated it with my PB & Banana breakfast bake without even realizing it. PB & I are just so in love it sends my subconscious messages I suppose ;)
    I LOVE any and all things cinnamon raisin. It never grows old!
    And congrats on being selected – that is so exciting!! And the race you signed up for looks to be a great cause, too :)

  14. I just found out it was national PB day and I am way bummed, seriously I am a nut butter addict!! anywho your homemade stuff looks amazing and congrats on all the wonderful news, I have to be honest I haven’t had a ton lately but htis post cheered me up so much I’m sure great things are now coming my way!!

  15. Congrats on getting into the race! Yeaaaahhh buddy!

    It’s also National Pancake Day… two of my favorite things on the same day! Woot woot!

  16. Congrats!!! That’s so awesome. I didn’t celebrate PB Lovers day but I know I’ll have some soon!

  17. Congratsss!! Oh my gosh I am so excited for you! I can’t imagine how it feels. Besides amazing, of course.
    In my opinion, every day is national peanut butter lovers day. I celebrate it every day too.
    I really want to run with girls on the run. I plan on signing up later this month!

  18. Congratulations!!!
    and WOW!! You are so fastt!!! I thought you started running quite recently…were you an athlete before in school? You are totally amazing!!! (so much envy ;)

  19. Cinnamon raisin pb?!?! I think YES! Can’t wait to hear how it turns out for you!

    Congrats on getting into the 5k! You will absolutely rock it!

  20. Wooohooo CONGRATS ON EVERYTHING AWESOME TODAY!! More importantly on the race! Keep training hard and I’M SURE you will kick some trash ;) get it gurrrl

  21. Wow! Sounds like a lot of really great news! Keep the energy up and good luck in your upcoming race!

  22. CONGRATULATIONS EMMA!! YOU WILL SO RE-PRE-SENT!! I say you shot for the 1:35–you are freaking talented and chocolate and PB make you run faster! he he!

  23. YAY! Congrats–you are a running rock star! Seriously you are so speedy! :)

  24. AHH congrats on the trial!! ANDt he pb and the race!! i signed up to do that race but i bet i wont get in :(
    you are SO SO FAST!!!! that must feel amazing- you are invincible!

  25. Congrats on the trial!!! You so deserved to be selected. I can’t wait to see how your training progresses. It might help me kick start my race training once I’ve selected a race to take part in! :)

  26. Congrats on getting in to the race! You are obviously such a naturally tallented runner your going to rock it! Wish I knew it was peanut butter day, I could have done with the excuse to eat more!

  27. Congrats on getting into the race! That’s awesome. So weird, but I didn’t know it was PB day yesterday, and it was like the only day I didn’t eat at PB in a long time! Boo, me. I shall make up for that today…

  28. woo hoo, congrats to you(great charity too:)!

    xoxo

  29. Congratulations on getting into the race – good luck with the training! :)

  30. Awesome news – congratulations! I’ve just started training for my first half marathon (I’m doing the Great North Run) and I’ll be running for the Cystic Fibrosis Trust (I ran a 10k for them last year as well) – I run for them as both my husband and sister in law have Cystic Fibrosis and in essence, that charity keeps them as healthy, well and alive as they are! I’ve managed to rope another 5 (possibly 6) people into running it with me too :D

  31. Emma, you’re a rock star! I wish we could run together. :)

  32. Congrats on the 5k acceptance! And exciting news about the RPH too. It’s a great race, from what I hear :)

  33. I feel like I’ve really missed out on PB lovers day. I had some hazelnut butter .. does that count?

  34. WELL DONE on getting in!!! that’s awesome :D i’m sure you’ll do a great race, you’re really fast!
    Also, yay for the half marathon! I’m doing my 3rd in a few weeks. Last year I ran the Great North Run for Anthony Nolan and had to raise alot of money but it was really worth it because it was serious motivation when the race got tough!

  35. Whoo well done on getting in on that race! And I think you should be commended for being able to make that Lindt bar last a whole three dyas!

  36. Congrats on getting into the race! I once ran a race on an Autism Research team. It was fun–felt great to run for a cause.

    Cinnamon Raisin PB looks divine!

  37. Woohoo! So much exciting news :) Lots of running!
    Post your cinnamon raisin PB recipe!! Please :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

