Thirty Day Thursday- My March Goals!

Hey friends!! It’s FRIDAY TOMORROW and I can’t WAIT! Friday’s are the BEST! Open-mouthed smile

ges

Thanks for your lovely (half!) birthday wishes on my post yesterday!! You are the BEST! And guess what happened today?! My AMAZING best friends surprised me with a half-birthday celebration!! They had baked a chocolate birthday cake, peanut butter cookies, dark chocolate and chocolate chip muffins! Seriously, how well do they know me?! I didn’t have my camera with me at the time, but I got to take the leftovers home so took photos then, and trust me they won’t be around for long! Winking smileDSC07279

DSC07283

DSC07280

They baked it all themselves and it was their first time baking vegan goods and they tasted SO delicious!! I had so many cookies and muffins, chocolate and two slices of cake. Hey, it’s my birthday! Smile with tongue out

gea

All that sugar actually fuelled me SO well for a speedwork run! Based on Page’s Shreadmill run post today:

1 min at Distance/Long Run Pace (7.50 min/mile)
1 min at Goal Pace- 30 secs faster (7. 20 min/mile)
2 mins at 5k pace- (6.40 min/mile)
1 min at fast/hard pace- (6.10 min/mile)

+5 min warm-up @ 7.55 min/mile and 5 min cooldown @ 7.40 min/mile.

I did a Page and got my last interval down to in the 5 min/mile zone! SmileDSC07287

This was so FUN and it was great to change things up! Repeated the intervals five times and felt GREAT the whole time. Also did 30 mins on the elliptical afterwards. I am going to be fuelling all my future runs with cookies and cake methinks! Smile with tongue out

gea

So, it’s Thirty Day Thursday!!image21

Day 29- Goals for this month

So I’ve seen a lot of other bloggers post their March goals, and I have a few of my own!

fwa

1. Train well. NOT overtrain of course, but stay focused, stick to my plan (which I’ll be talking about on Saturday) and this way I’ll be able to do well in my 5k race. This includes doing a lot of cross-training and at least one rest day- both my body and my mind need to chillax sometimes!

fewa

2. Keep studying all I can for running! What I have learned so far has helped me SO MUCH so more studying is going to really benefit me I think!DSC07270

gae

3. Do a yoga session at least once a week. I do a few yoga stretches every day before bed, but since my yoga class got cancelled in January, I haven’t done a full session! I want to do at least a 40 min session once a week- I miss it!!

faf

4. Rehydrate properly. I am seriously lacking in the rehydrating area. I drink a LOT of water but never replenish my salts, so I get a lot of muscle cramps and headaches as a result. I’m going to try to work on this this month and hopefully see results.

grs

5. Join a gym. I quit my gym a few months ago because I felt it was getting too expensive for me, and have been using it on a pay-as-you-go basis since then. But I calculated yesterday that I am paying almost DOUBLE what a membership would cost me! So I think it’s time to sort that out!

gre

6. Perfect my cinnamon-raisin peanut butter recipe. So many of you requested the recipe after I made it on Tuesday, but sadly it was only okaynot raisiny enough and too dry. So I WILL perfect it so we can all bathe in the nutty-cinnamony-raisiny goodness.DSC07227

gea

7. Help others more. I want to start doing something that will benefit others, because sometimes I feel so self-centred, and I would really love to do something that will make a difference to other people!! I’m thinking of helping out with the youth group at my church or at a care home or something like that.

ges

8. Wash my hair more often. No elaboration needed.

gragr

Do you have any goals for this month? I could list hundreds to be honest, but I don’t think I’d be able to acheive them all! Smile with tongue out

gea

Are you a gym member? What is most important to you when looking at gyms? Price, classes, location, facilities, etc…for me, price is a big deal, but location and classes are also pretty important.

thr

What is your exercise/run fuel of choice? Mine is Clif bars or PB+banana on toast normally, but now it’s cookies and cake!! Winking smile

fwea

ENJOY your Friday lovelies!!

21 Responses

  1. Haha I love how your goal is to wash your hair more often! So funny! :) Great workout!! Sounds like something I’d like to try! Happy belated birthday! Hope you enjoyed the treats

  2. Great goals! Um confession- I haven’t washed my hair in 5 days…I don’t see anything wrong with that hahaha

    Oh and that Chocolate cake picture totally reminds me of this scene from Matilda… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iK4iR_stpoo

    please tell me you’ve seen this movie beforeeeee!

  3. Awesome goals. I love how one of them
    is washing your hair more often!!! Ha! I love dates or a yummy energy bar to fuel my workouts. Just a lil somethin’ somethin’ to see me through.

  4. Aww, your cinnamon raisin PB recipe will be perfect once you figure it all out. Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    So many great goals here!

  5. Lots of great goals! Can’t wait to see the perfect cinnamon raisin peanut butter recipe once you get it! I don’t have a gym membership right now. I’m not big into working out in public haha!

  6. I’m lucky enough to have a free gym to workout at, and I make good use of my group exercise pass I paid for.
    My goal is to build up my long runs through March.
    I also need to wash my hair more/shower after workouts. I hardly ever shower after workouts!

  7. Ahhhhh, thanks for the shout out and I’m so glad that you did the workout! Were you sweating crazy too?

    Oh, and can you please come visit me in California? I think we’d be great running buddies :)

  8. Okay, that is so awesome that your friends baked you all of those goodies – and even more awesome that they made a conscious effort to make everything vegan for you!
    Great goals, too. I just did a mini yoga sesh today after not having done any for MONTHS. Loved how relaxed I felt during and after. I ought to make it a goal to do it more often :)

  9. Haha I totally need to work on number 8 too. Studying always wins when it comes to hair vs. study. Sleep also beats hair. My (not so) luscious locks are suffering!

    My favorite fuel is peanut butter and banana. That combination is actually my favorite ever. I eat it pretty much everyday, whether it’s preworkout fuel or not!

  10. My fuel of choice is porridge with pb and honey. It keeps me fuelled without being too heavy, so long as I wait a few hours. I always need to wait several hours after eating to exercise, my tummy is temperamental!

  11. It would be great if you decided to volunteer. I work with loads of community groups – volunteers are so important. I think its wonderful that you would like to help others! Look up your local volunteer centre and they should help you or go to http://www.do-it.org.uk x

  12. GREAT GOALS! esp the cinnamon raisin pb- cant wait until that is perfected :D my fuel is PB with a nanner of course!! i eat legit at least 2 of those combos a day- WOW you seriously had SUCH A good half bday!

  13. I’m sorry I missed your last post :( But I’m still going to wish you a HAPPY (half) BIRTHDAY!!!!! I hope it was amazingly awesome!!!! :D

    Those are great goals!! My fuel of choice is PB and toast too! And that cake looks extremely delicious – YUM!! (you can send any leftovers to me ;) )

  14. Wow girl! What an amazing Half-Birthday! :D I love how much chocolate was invovled. ;)

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  15. I had almost cinnamon raisin pb today- in my sandwich I put pb, sprinkled on cinnamon and then raisins on top. It was yummy! It was because I had no bananas or apples and wanted something else in the sandwch :) LOoking forward to the recipe as the choc pb was so good :)

  16. I CANNOT believe you ran a mile in under six minutes!!! You are seriously a god. Color me impressed!

  17. Emma, I highly recommend coconut water after exercise, lots of natural electrolytes and really helps you rehydrate!

  18. I love sunballs (basically dates blended with sunflower seeds and shredded coconut, formed into balls). So yummy!

    For me, the biggest draw at the gym is fun classes. I need some fun classes…otherwise I just won’t bother going. I love Zumba and BodyCombat the best! I used to looooooove bellydancing, but it isn’t offered at my current gym.

  19. Good luck with your March goals! I know you will do great!!!

  20. Cookies for breakfast?! Standard ;-)
    And happy half-birthday by the way!

  21. Hey pretty lady! I was just laughing to myself all us UK bloggers seem to be online at the same time! Hee hee!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

