Cold morning running!

Brr was it chilly this morning or what?! According to the forecast it was about 3C at 8am this morning, when I embarked on a run. I’m not usually a morning run person (more late afternoon/early evening-I’m just too lazy normally!), but I’m going to try to do one regularly on Sunday mornings. Apart from rolling out of bed at 7.30, which I really did not relish, I seriously enjoyed it! Early  morning exercise really sets you up for the day doesn’t it? Pre-workout snack was peanut butter on toast. We were out of bananas, so I could have my usual sliced banana on top Sad smile But it’s all okay now, because we bought a ton more today! Open-mouthed smileDSC03569

I did 4 miles in 35 mins, which I was pleased with, considering my hilly neighbourhood! Must remember to wear gloves next time though- I had some serious numb finger issues during the run! And I mapped my run to go through this lovely private housing estate called Farnborough Park because I love looking at all the gorgeous houses! Not a single one is under a million pounds! Here’s one that I was ogling that’s for sale:Farnborough Park

Just under £3.5 million, if you’re interested! It has an indoor swimming pool that I’d really love to have, so if you feel like being generous, you know who would really appreciate it…! Smile with tongue out

Back to yesterday! I started the day with the current favourite: pumpkin oatmeal, and then hit the shops quickly, as it’s my dad’s birthday tomorrow, and I needed to get him a present. Unfortunately, I was in such a rush I forgot to buy a card!!! Oops! Embarrassed smile I don’t know what to do…possibly make an excuse in the morning then get one in the afternoon and give it to him in the evening…? I’ll figure something out hopefully! Anyway, I also bought a yoga mat, as I have my first ‘proper’ class this Friday (when I practise at home I just use my carpet! Smile with tongue out).DSC03556

I also bought a ‘Women’s Running’ magazine for the first time, and a fluorescent running vest for running in the dark:DSC03549

I can’t wait to read this article in particular:DSC03550

As someone who has never run in winter before, and gets cold very easily, I really need all the tips and advice I can get! So far, I’ve read the first few pages of the magazine, and what little I’ve read is great! Especially since there is a £5 Sweatshop voucher AND  another (separate) offer that gives you 10% off+ free delivery on the Sweatshop online store! Win! Open-mouthed smile

Oooh and talking of online running shopping (sorry, off on another tangent here! Smile with tongue out), I recently got a tip-off about the clearance sale at achillesheel.co.uk. Basically, I’ve been looking to purchase a running jacket, and there are a two on this site that I like that are such a good deal! Reduced from £50 and £40 to £20 and £12 respectively! So advice time please! See what you think:

They are such great value! I’m personally leaning towards the Mizuno Performance Windbreaker at the moment… Anyways if you’re looking for any running gear, I suggest you check out this site! And the Sweatshop clearance stuff is good too Smile 

Yesterday’s dinner was a vegetable bake that I often throw together quickly when I’m in a hurry. Basically sliced carrots, green beans and cauliflower florets in sauce with cubed potatoes on top, which is seasoned with salt+pepper then baked:DSC03560

DSC03568

And for dessert, I had a pack of Bear Cocoa Cherry Pie granola nibbles:DSC03543

DSC03545

Mmm…chocolaty granola…DSC03546

And I also picked up these when food shopping today:DSC03578DSC03576

2 packs for £3 in Sainsbury’s! Yay! Open-mouthed smile And I also saw that Sainsbury’s are now selling packs of 9Bars! I’ve never seen those outside of a health foods store before, so I’ll probably buy them another time.

Today’s lunch consisted of cauliflower cheese with a side of steamed spinach. I’ve decided that cauliflower cheese is one of my ultimate winter comfort foods- I love it!

DSC03575

The (healthier-than-normal) cauliflower cheese recipe:

Adapted from Asda magazine

1 medium cauliflower
500ml skimmed soya milk, warmed
25g butter light margarine (I used Clover Light, as it’s suitable for cooking, baking, etc.)
25g flour
¼ level tsp cayenne
¼ level tsp dry mustard powder
2 level tsp cornflour/cornstarch
150g reduced-fat mature Cheddar cheese
25g Parmesan, grated vegetarian/vegan Parmesan alternative (I bought mine from Sainsbury’s if you’re interested)
50g breadcrumbs made from slightly stale bread (I used wholemeal)

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C/180C Fan/Gas 6. Cut the cauliflower into large florets and add to a large pan of boiling water. Simmer until just tender. Drain and put in an ovenproof dish.
  2. Melt the butter/marg in a medium-sized pan. Remove from the heat and stir in the flour. Stir over a low heat for 2 minutes.
  3. Remove from the heat and gradually whisk in the milk.
  4. Add the cayenne and mustard powder and bring to the boil, whisking all the time. Mix the cornflour with 2tbsp water to form a smooth paste, and stir in. Simmer for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from the heat.
  5. Set aside 25g of the Cheddar and add the rest to the sauce with the vegetarian/vegan Parmesan alternative. Season to taste. Pour the sauce over the hot cauliflower and sprinkle with the breadcrumbs and remaining Cheddar. Cook in the oven for 10 minutes, and voila! Perfect winter meal!Smile

Now off to bake a cake for my dad, and I’ll try not to eat too much chocolate buttercream in the process! Smile with tongue out

So thoughts on the jackets, or any other alternative suggestions? And do you have any winter running tips?

11 Responses

  1. ooooh I love looking at all the ‘fancy’ houses when I run too! hehe and at the moment we are deciding what sort of ‘garden’ we will have for our new house so I find myself ‘garden peeping’ more and more as I run past!

  2. Haha, I was just about to write what the commenter above me wrote! I also love looking at the fancy houses when I run and imagining living in them. I pretend I’m waking up in a huge royal bed and the going downstairs to savour the breakfast that my chef prepared for me while sipping on some fancy coffee 🙂 A girl can dream!!
    By the way that cauliflower bake looks really good! I’ve been on a creamy food kick lately (Risotto all the way!)

    • I love how my guilty secret is apparently shared by so many! 😀 I know- just running down the road I was hoping people I passed thought I lived in one of those houses! If only…!
      Oh man, don’t get me started on risotto! I have a killer (vegan) courgette and tomato risotto recipe that I’ll make again soon and share! 🙂

  3. Running in the winter- get a craft top- they are a swedish brand and they are amazing! Also gloves, and an ear warmer head band type thing. Make sure your clothes are still sweat wicking, as you will still sweat and if it stays by your skin you will get cold from the damp. Staying dry will help keep you warm. Love the online bargain tips by the way!

    • Thanks for the advice! I think I’ll spend my Sweatshop vouchers on some of that stuff! All my running clothes are sweat-wicking- it makes such a difference doesn’t it? Thanks for the tips, and you’re welcome! 😀

  4. I hate running in the cold! Good for you to do it! I love getting new fitness gears and magazines…it is a problem financially!

    • Thanks, but the real test for me is running in the rain, which I have yet to do properly…! Drizzle, fine, downpour, not so much! 😛
      Tell me about it! I swear as soon as I get money I spend it straight away on that kind of thing! Worth it though 🙂

  5. I would be tempted to buy both, but then I’m terrible when it comes to new kit! I think the Mizuno one looks like it might be warmer, but it’s hard to tell from that picture. I find the trick to running in different weather conditions is having lots of layers that you can mix and match. I have a single layer waterproof shell, which is good for autumn and spring rain. And in the winter I put it over a Nike hooded jacket. As Maria said too: hat and gloves. And make sure it’s all technical fabrics, to get the sweat away 🙂

    ps – my Sunday was also banana-less, it sucks doesn’t it!

  6. Haha don’t tempt me- I’m trying to watch my spending at the moment, so I probably won’t buy both, however much I want to! 😛 Yeah I think I’m going to go with the Mizuno, despite the annoying fact that it hasn’t got a proper picture!!
    Thanks for the advice! And yes, it really does suck- I can’t function without my yellow friends! 😛

  7. Mmm that cauliflower cheese looks bomb. need to try this asap!! I love those nakd bars, I see them all over the blogging world but I’ve never had them myself! omg that house is amazing, I love running through fancy expensive neighborhoods:)

Leave a Reply

