First ever yoga class!

Today was the day. The day I would finally go to my first proper yoga class. In the past, I’ve been to a few one-off yoga courses, etc but had never found a good, cheap local class that I could make. However I found a little notice about a class pinned to a noticeboard, and it sounded good! When I called up about it, the instructor described it as a ‘small class’. He wasn’t kidding! I brought a friend along with me, and apart from the guy leading the class, there was just one other person! So practically 1-2-1! Smile This was my favourite pose:

yoga_3936727

The Pose of a Warrior! Open-mouthed smile The class, although relaxing, was so tough! There was SO much I couldn’t do! But soon, I’ll be able to do all sorts of amazing moves hopefully! But I can feel certain underused muscles (ahem abs and arms!) complaining already! I’m going to be stiff tomorrow! Smile with tongue out

I was in a smoothie mood today, so breakfast was a good old breakfast smoothie with added oatbran:DSC03710

My lunch that I threw together in about 30 seconds before I ran out of the door  was leftover brown rice from dinner a couple of nights ago with some marinated tofu chunks (in my usual reused butter tub of course!) :DSC03716

During my lunch hour, I had planned to get in 20-30 mins of fartlek on a treadmill. Much as I dislike/hate the treadmill, it is really useful for interval training and that sort of thing! But I heard of a (free) group exercise class happening at the exact same time, so decided on impulse to go to that instead. Man was it hard! It was like a BodyPump class, but with a ton of push-ups and bench presses thrown in!  I was a right sweaty mess by the end, and my arms felt like jelly! Must. Gain. Arm. Muscles!

So tomorrow I have a 3 hour music rehearsal that starts at 9am (oh joy!) but I am hoping that I can get in a short run before that…we’ll see how I feel in the morning! Smile with tongue out But thanks goodness it’s the weekend now! Open-mouthed smile

So questions: Do you do yoga, and if so, do you have a favourite pose? And treadmills: love them or hate them?

Have a great weekend everyone! Smile

3 Responses

  1. I can’t stand treadmilles- it is so boring, and even with the air con on, so hot. I much prefer being outside. BUt I suppose they are useful for when the weather is completely awful, although I am not a member of the gym any more so it is outside or no run for me now. I managed all of last winter except for a week where the pavements had compacted snow frozen on them- I tried one run, slipped over badly and decided I did not want to break any bones so I gingerly tip toed home! 🙂 But then that day I would not have wanted to drive to the gym even if I was a member!

    • I feel the exact same way! Outside running is so much better, and much more interesting too! Yeah the weather issues with outdoor running DO make treadmilling seem more attractive.
      That sounds painful! I broke my wrist just walking in the snow a few years ago, so running in it may be something I’ll try to avoid! 😛 Anyway, that definitely sounds like a wise decision you made!

  2. […] Contact ← First ever yoga class! […]

Leave a Reply

