Chocolaty Green Monster

Remember yesterday’s oatmeal/green monster breakfast dilemma? Well today was the turn of the Green Monster. Oh yes, it’s spinach time:spinach

My sweet tooth was raging this morning, and so I decided to put a chocolaty twist on my Green Monster this morning. Enter the Chocolaty Green Monster.

Chocolaty Green Monster

  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 3/4 cup soya milk
  • 3-6 teaspoons cocoa powder, depending on how chocolaty you like it!
  • 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • toppings of choice (I used Grape Nuts)

Alas though, I had no cocoa powder!! Surprised smile I know, I know! I searched all the cupboards, high and low, and the best replacement I could come up with was this:cadbury-highlights

Instant light hot chocolate powder! My mum loves this stuff, so we have a ton of it in the house. Wasn’t quite as good as cocoa powder, but is lighter and still gave the Green Monster a lovely chocolaty taste! Would still go with normal cocoa powder in the future though Smile with tongue out The finished product:DSC03780

Lovely and thick, just how I like it! And stirring in the Grape Nut topping gives it such a great crunchy texture! Smile

Mid-morning snack continued the chocolaty theme:DSC03785

A Cocoa Loco Nakd bar! My favourite flavour so far I think, but I have so many still to try!

Lunch was at my grandma’s house. She’s still not quite getting the whole vegetarian cooking thing yet…DSC03790

That was my main meal, that I managed to snap a quick picture of before she caught me! Smile with tongue out Yes, it is broccoli covered in masses of melted cheese! But aah well, there are always roasties!DSC03791

So for those of you who, like me, have specific dietary requirements, do people generally deal with that well when cooking for you? What’s the strangest/worst thing someone has made for you? The last time I was round my grandma’s, she served me a ready meal ‘Vegetarian Moussaka’, which would have been fine, except for the fact that she hadn’t cooked/defrosted it properly, so it was literally frozen solid in the middle! Smile with tongue out

Have a great evening everyone! Open-mouthed smile

12 Responses

  1. Hahaha the frozen-and-not-defrosted meal made me laugh! Usually people are fine with cooking for me, but I always seem to catch people sneaking extra butter or oil into my food thinking that I’m not eating the meat to save calories… I don’t mind it but come on, guys, nobody likes ultra greasy vegetables!!
    I made a chocolate green monster too once, it turned out such a nasty colour but was so delicious 🙂

    • Trust me, it was hard not to laugh at the time too! 😀
      Oh my, my mum does that! Not kidding, she puts extra butter/oil into everything I eat! Depending on what it is, it isn’t too bad, but yeah greasy vegetables isn’t good! 😛
      True, most green monsters don’t look great, but the taste more than makes up for it! 😀

  2. Chocolate green monster! Great idea!! I have IBS and whenever it flares up people don’t understand I just can’t eat certain foods…..so I end up just eating a whole lot of bread! Hopefully people get used to your choices soon:)

    • Oh, you NEED to try it. SO good 😀
      Ah that must be a pain! Hopefully it doesn’t affect you too much, and you can still eat all the foods you like! My cousin has IBS and I know she struggles with it…
      Most people are used to it, and are fine with it (I’ve been a vegetarian for over 3 years now) but I don’t think my mainly-carnivorous gran will ever fully grasp the concept of vegetarianism! 😛

  3. oooh that green monster does look wonderful!!!!!

  4. I love green monsters! I need more fruits in them though or else I think you can taste the spinach haha

    • Haha I think I thought that the first time I had one, but then must have grown used to it and started loving it! 😀 I do love adding other fruits though too, especially strawberries or pears!

  5. Aw, bless your gran for trying though 🙂 I am struggling with people getting their head around the whole vegan thing at the moment. I’m going to the States for Thanksgiving to visit friends, and I think there’s going to be a showdown about whether I actually eat vegan or not. At the moment I think they’re banking on me caving in. But the more they assume that, the more I’m digging my heels in. Which is ironic really, as originally I’d planned to flip back to vegetarian for the occasion. I’m so contrary! 😀

    • Yeah, she does try! 😛
      I know what you mean- I currently have a ‘vegan day’ one day a week, and people find that strange, so I imagine its worse for you!
      Haha that’s funny! Well I hope whatever they serve you is great anyway! Enjoy! 😀

  6. i haven’t ate red meat in 15 years, but my dad still asks if i want a burger. (sigh…i guess he’s hoping.) your smoothie looks delish, btw. then again i’m a firm believer of anything with chocolate. 🙂

  7. Haha, my dad’s the same too! Although I think he’s joking! 😛
    Thank you, and trust me, I am too! 😀

Leave a Reply

