A day spent in the kitchen

The morning began with the world’s oatiest breakfast:DSC03963

“What, a simple bowl of oatmeal?”, I hear you ask. Oh no people. This oatmeal is made with oats, oat bran, and oat milk.DSC03944

Turns out, I love oat milk. It tastes like liquefied oats. Sounds slightly gross, but trust me, if you love oats, then you’ll love this! It even has an ‘Ode to Oats’ on the back of the carton that you can enjoy reading whilst making your oatmeal.DSC03959

DSC03958

Pure brilliance. I felt like having a topping of sprinkled oats on top of my oatmeal instead of the usual raisins, but decided that might be a little OTT! Smile with tongue out

So pumpkin baking day anyone? It involved a lot of batters and mixes…

DSC03965

DSC03974

…and a bit of mess…DSC03982

…and lots of yummy eats!

DSC03992

DSC03985

First up was Pumpkin Gingerbread with Spiced Buttercream. This was inspired by Miss Ohsheglows, and although the buttercream was from her recipe, the pumpkin gingerbread recipe was from here (with a few minor tweaks), as I didn’t have many of Angela’s gingerbread ingredients in my kitchen. The recipe for the buttercream made far too much to cover the gingerbread I made, so if I made it again, I’d make less, but anyway it was delicious! Open-mouthed smile

Next up was Pumpkin Cookies! This recipe was taken from the inside label of canned pumpkin (not Libby’s, I think it may have been Paula’s…?):

Pumpkin Spice Cookies (from canned pumpkin label)

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup margarine, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 1 egg (I used a flax egg)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (I used ground mixed spice)
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda/baking soda
  • 1 1/4 cup flour (I used 1/4 wholemeal spelt flour )
  • 3/4 cup quick-cook oatmeal (Ready Brek for the Brits!)
  1. In a large bowl combine pumpkin, margarine, sugar, egg, spices and vanilla.  With electric mixer beat until well combined. 
  2. Add flour, oats, baking powder, and soda and mix until a smooth batter is formed.
  3. Drop onto a lightly greased baking tray.  Bake for about 12-15 minutes.  Leave to cool slightly on cookie sheet before removing, and enjoy!

These taste even better after being stored in a container for a bit, so I’m guessing they’ll be at their best tomorrow! I made a number of small oddly shaped ones (where’s the fun in regular sized cookies! Smile with tongue out), and a few larger flat cookies:DSC03970

DSC03972

In the afternoon, I went to the local (tiny) library, and came across a vegan cookery book in their recipe book section! I’ve never seen one there before- they rarely even have vegetarian ones! So of course I got it out:DSC03986

Just flicking through it quickly, I saw this main meal recipe and liked the idea!DSC03987

I see this in my near future! Open-mouthed smile And actually this inspired my dinner- Chana Masala! I added spinach to it (as I do with pretty much everything nowadays!) to make it perfect:DSC03989

Enjoyed with wholegrain brown rice and an (unpictured) side salad:DSC03996

Yes, I had started eating that before I remembered to snap a picture! Oops! Smile with tongue out I actually couldn’t finish it- that’s what happens when you eat too much of what you bake! I over-indulged a bit today, but I know I usually eat healthily, so I’m okay with it. Smile

So, fellow Brits, did you know it’s set to snow this week?

image

According to Metcheck, 9am-12pm on Saturday it’s going to be ‘snowy showers’ here in South-East London! And check out those chilly temperatures! I have an early morning run planned for Saturday too! Confused smile But Northern England is apparently going to get up to 6 inches of snow this week! Do you love snow? I think it’s pretty, but I’m much more of a hot weather person!

Also, I was wondering, are you doing anything for Thanksgiving? Do you non-American blog-readers celebrate or acknowledge it in any way, and if you are American, what are you doing to celebrate? I’m half American (my dad’s from New York) and so we kinda celebrate it by having a nice meal and that sort of thing,  but nothing big really.

Have a great evening Smile

9 Responses

  1. Ooh, I’m about to celebrate my first thanksgiving. I am most excited about having a beer while watching the game (Friends cliche anyway!), but I’m also excited about the opportunity to spend a pseudo-Christmas with my friends 🙂

    I’m also making pumpkin gingerbread tomorrow, so thanks for the tips about the icing!

  2. I;m just excited to sit down at a nice table and eat some yummy food with family!

  3. Oh no! I hope we don’t get 6 inches of snow!! All your cooking and baking looks scrumptious!

  4. I hope it doesn’t snow too heavily. I hate it when it turns to ice 😦

  5. I dont celebrate it, but I will be doing some pumpkin baking this weekend! As for the snow- it looks pretty but I dont like the bit after where the slush freezes and makes the pavements a death trap! I have a run planned for sat am so will be wrapping up warm! 🙂

  6. I seriously need to try out a recipe that does pumpkin + gingerbread flavors together. It sounds so good.

  7. […] Contact ← A day spent in the kitchen […]

  8. […] That miniscule  blob was all that was left in the tin! Still made it lovely and pumpkiny though! All stirred in and topped with a crumbled pumpkin cookie: […]

  9. […] I used up the last of my oat milk in this morning’s GM, I popped into Tesco’s to buy more, and continue my quest to find my […]

Leave a Reply

