The London Running Show and a trip to Whole Foods!

SUCH a good day today! And a good day always starts in a good way I always say…!DSC04068

My first ever bowl of stovetop oatmeal! I always tell people they should try it but had never actually tried it myself until today! Smile with tongue outDSC04070

Made Kath-style! 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup oat milk, 1/2 cup water and some banana:DSC04069

As always, it included lots of this:DSC04071

Also mixed in oatbran and topped with the remaining banana and yet more cinnamon:DSC04078

So SO creamy! Definitely better texture than microwaved, but it does take a lot longer. And then there’s the extra washing-up of course…DSC04080

But I guess on the weekends that’s fine! Would love to try an apple+cinnamon version of this! Maybe tomorrow…

Anyway, in the afternoon, I visited the London Running Show!DSC04103

There were so many exhibitors, from running magazines to charities, to companies like Brooks and Gu.DSC04082

There were also seminars, and I attended one on ‘Yoga for Runners’ which was really interesting and informative. The speaker talked about the best postures and types of yoga for runners, and how yoga benefits runners. There many other seminars too- the one on running injuries was especially popular. A photo of one of the ‘seminar theatres’:DSC04081

The best bit though was obviously the free stuff! I got to try so much food (the Clif bars were my favourite) and this is some of the swag I got:DSC04096

Water, Powerade Zero, Energy Gel, two ‘NRG’ energy bars and an Eat Natural bar. I also got a free gait analysis, which was great! Open-mouthed smile

I then took advantage of the direct Underground link to the Whole Foods Market Kensington stop. This is the biggest Whole Foods in the UK and it is amazing. What made it even better was that it was all Christmasy!DSC04094

This was a new addition to the bulk bin section here:DSC04090DSC04089DSC04088

Nut butters! I loved how it was almost make-it-yourself style! I really wanted to try the pecan, but it wasn’t cheap. Maybe next time though! Smile

There were so many samples to try today, which I took full advantage of. I tried pumpkin pie for the first time:DSC04083

We Brits are totally missing out! I may have gone back for seconds… Winking smile Look at all this canned pumpkin! DSC04084

I have seen pita chips a lot on American food blogs, and Whole Foods had tasters! They are so addictive!DSC04086

And the taster table was unmanned! So guess where I spent a good few minutes hovering? Smile with tongue out The chilli flavour was the best. I was tempted to buy some, but I knew it would be a bit of a waste of money, as I’d finish them in no time at all! Budget restraints in the run up to Christmas suck! For this reason, I also put these into my basket, then put back:DSC04085

DSC04087

But I still ended up with a ton of great stuff that I had never tried before, including:DSC04100

DSC04098

DSC04101

Smoked tofu, tempeh, Nakd banana bread bar, Bodymatter organic no-added sugar granola and dark chocolate with cocoa nibs! Smile

I’m going to see Harry Potter 7 tomorrow!! Open-mouthed smile I can’t wait!! Have you seen the new Harry Potter yet? If so, what did you think?

26 Responses

  1. Wow, this is the perfect post to read right now!! We just came home from seeing the new HP. It was an amazing movie..but we saw it in Imax which was very uncomfortable…I wouldn’t recommend it. Even so, it was great..very dark, but great. 🙂

    Whipped banana oats are incredible, aren’t they? I love how the heat makes the bananas ultra sweet and gives the oats such a nice texture as well.
    And lucky you for going through that Whole Foods! I love that place but it’s way too expensive for my budget. I do love their grind-your-own-peanut butter, though!

    • Oh cool! Glad to hear you enjoyed it, despite watching it in the Imax! I agree though, it was very dark!
      YES, I am a whipped banana oat convert! Perfect texture 😀
      Haha yes, Whole Foods definitely makes a dent in my budget! I try to monitor how much I spend in there, and try not to get roped in to making ‘impulse buys’. I fail though! 😛

  2. I saw it to review it for my school newspaper. it was stunning. The visuals, the sensitive characterizations, loved it.

  3. i got some of that Bodymatter granola! ihaven’t even tried it get, i totally forgot i had it!i miss WF i gotta go!

  4. I’m so jealous! I wish Whole Foods would open up more stores in the UK. Its a 1 hour train journey or a 2 hour and 30 min drive from me. Looks like you picked up some great goodies

  5. Wow wholefoods looks amazing 🙂

  6. I LOVE the nut butter machines! I was really tempted by the pistachio one – but put off by the price, although you did better than me – I couldn’t resist the Dark Chocolate Dreams 🙂
    I always do stove porridge but I do it the night before… and if you mash your banana and melt it in the microwave then stir it in in the morning, it tastes amazing…!

    • Haha! I don’t think I have done better- I can’t stop thinking about it! When I next go (soon!) I will probably end up getting it anyway! 😛
      That’s a really good idea! I must try that…

  7. Looks like you had a fab trip, I love wholefoods but I would be in mountains of debt if I lived anywhere near one 🙂 I love stove top oatmeal and don’t make it any other way now, I even have the same little pan as you! I do the yoga for runners download from yogadownload.com – its free. You should give it ago, it really helped me when I was training for the Great north run last year X

    • Yep, I’ll be in debt if I go there again any time soon! 😛
      Haha pan twins! I am officially a stove-top convert, but I think I’ll still have to microwave it normally as I’m very rushed in the weekday mornings sadly!
      Cool thanks for the tip! I’ll check it out 🙂

  8. Ah Wholefoods, love that place!
    I always make my porridge on the hob as I don’t have a microwave 😀

  9. Whole foods is the best 🙂 its like a little vacation in there.
    I’ve never been able to tell the difference between microwave and stovetop! I think I make them weird. Maybe if I put milk instead of water in them.

    • I know, I love that place. I want to live there! 🙂
      Seriously? I think the texture is very different- stovetop is much creamier I think! It probably is the milk/water thing. Try it with milk and see if you notice a difference!

  10. I got to visit Whole Foods while on Thanksgiving break. I LOVE that place, but it’s probably good there isn’t one near where I live… I’d go broke!

    As for oats, I like it more on the stove, but I don’t like the cleanup/time. My tip is to make it in the microwave and then add in a spoonful of extra, raw oats at the end for a bit more texture!

    • Haha I’d definitely be broke if I make another trip any time soon! 😛
      I’m exactly the same! Those are definitely the cons! And thanks for the tip- I’ll try that tomorrow I think! 🙂

  11. I love that Peanut Butter & Co. dark chocolate dreams, so good!!!
    Your oatmeal looks wonderfully delicious!!!

  12. […] Contact ← The London Running Show and a trip to Whole Foods! […]

  13. […] Dessert was some dark chocolate with cocoa nibs from Whole Foods: […]

  14. […] my budget, I had to resist though, especially as I’m planning another Whole Foods trip this week! But I did treat myself to […]

  15. […] I finished up my workout with a quick 20 mins of speed intervals on the elliptical/cross-trainer. I also finally got round to trying out the Powerade Zero (a sports rehydration drink) I got given for free when I visited the London Running Show. […]

Leave a Reply

