Dear Santa

Happy December 1st!! To me, this is when the Christmas period really begins! To top off the happiness, I had a great stay-at-home day today because of the snow! Open-mouthed smileDSC04176

It had snowed constantly yesterday and throughout the night, so it was very thick today! I can’t remember every having such thick snow! Check out how much has fallen on our sundial:DSC04177

And this sight really gave me a fright when I opened my curtains this morning:DSC04178

Icicles are scary!

Pre-breakfast workout was clearing the drive and the front of the house of snow. This was a good muscle workout! It didn’t help though that my muscles are still killing from Monday’s first ever BodyPump class! Confused smile I wrapped up appropriately (it was still snowing at the time):DSC04183

In my defence, this photo was taken very, very early in the morning for me! Smile with tongue out

My well-earned breakfast was, you guessed it, a huge bowl of oatmeal! Made with this stuff…DSC04169

…which is delicious! This coconut milk provides more than a third of your recommended daily amount of calcium! Smile I may even like this more than oat milk…hmm…

I topped my oatmeal with a handful of Bodymatter granola:DSC04172

I considered adding more granola, but I’m really trying to make this stuff last, and at the rate I’m munching it, it won’t last another week! Too. Darn. Addictive. Winking smile

DSC04173

Lunch was delicious too! Wholewheat noodles in soy sauce, with the remainders of yesterday’s smoked tofu and some fried courgette:DSC04188 

The bad thing about all this snow is that I can’t run in it! A little bit of snow might be fine, but with the heavy amount we have at the moment, it would be hard and quite dangerous. So I decided today to go to my local gym (which took me 45 mins to walk to, instead of the usual 20 mins!), and hit the treadmill, much as I hate it!

Famfitness_Gym_Treadmills_16_5_2009_5

Fuelled by my peanut butter sandwich, packed half for a pre-workout snack and half for afterwards:DSC04197I only managed 30 mins on the dreadmill before giving in and hopping on the cross-trainer/elliptical for half an hour, then headed on the slow snowy walk home. I had thankfully wrapped up well:DSC04207 On the way home, I enjoyed looking at our town’s Christmas lights and decorations, which are really quite nice this year!DSC04209

35150_a

Petts_Wood_Christmas_Tree_blog_pic

And on that note, here’s what tops my Christmas list this year:GarminForerunner305GPSReceiver

The Garmin Forerunner 305!!! Open-mouthed smile I think I’ve been a pretty good girl this year, and hopefully Santa will agree! Smile Other Xmas list items include…

A running non-slip headband from Sweaty Betty suitable all year round to keep my fringe+hair out of my face:

sweaty-betty-sportswear-skinny-nonslip-headband

This Nike Thalia Two-in-One Women’s Sport top, that will be great for yoga, gym, etc:Nike-Thalia-Two-In-One-Womens-Sports-Top-381005_010_A

And the Born to Run book by Christopher McDougall:born_to_run

What’s on your Christmas list this year?

20 Responses

  1. Oh thanks for reminding me about that book – must look out for it next time i’m at the library!

    A garmin is one of my 2011 purchase dreams 😀

    • I’ve looked for it in my local library actually, but have never had any luck! Hopefully you’ll have better luck than I did! 🙂
      I’ve wanted one for ages too! I hope Santa reads that…! 😛

  2. i agree with you on the snow! and its snowing right now… humph! I’m looking for some healthy cookbooks to put on my wish list- any suggestions?!

  3. I really want to read Born to Run. I love love loveee the snow – I was able to go snowboarding last weekend, and I’m heading up again Saturday.

    • I can’t wait to read it too! I read a review of it in Women’s Running and loved the sound of it! 🙂
      Haha I’ve got a bit of a love/hate relationship with the snow at the moment! I love how beautiful and Christmasy it is, and the novelty factor, but hate that I can’t run and go places!

  4. Oh my goodness!! So much snow! You’re so lucky..we probably wont even get half an inch this year.

  5. I have asked for that Born to run book too- think I saw a little review in Womens Running mag, and liked the sound of it 🙂
    We have had another dusting of snow- not quite an inch today I think. I would likeall or nothing with the snow, although I hate driving when it is scary snow, and work is too far away for me to walk.

    • SAME! That’s where I heard of it, and decided to put it on my list! It sounds great from the review in there, and then I looked it up on Amazon as well, and it got great reviews there too! 🙂
      Haha not quite an inch!? Come and live here! 😛 Ooh yes, don’t want to scare you, but I’ve seen at least three car accidents in the last few days on the main road where I live!

  6. Loving the Christmas lights! We had more snow overnight. I really hope it goes soon, it’s so pointless and boring. I really want a garmin too, maybe not for Christmas. I think I might treat myself next year!

    • They are lovely 🙂 Same! The amount of snow we have now is officially ridiculous!
      Treat yourself! I was thinking about doing the same, but figured with Christmas so soon, I might as well take the opportunity! 😛

  7. I would love a proper garmin but I have to make do with my iPhone and runkeeper that keeps losing signal, bah!

  8. Great christmas list! I can’t believe this snow, theres loads of it isn’t there! It’s right about now I wish I had a gym membership, I ran in snow last year but it was only a few cms!

  9. Oh my goodness, SNOW! The icicles are so artistic looking! 🙂

    This year I really want a Kitchen Aid Mixer, it will make baking SO MUCH easier!!

    Love your blog, btw!

    • I know! Haha, I should have taken a photo of the icicles today…even bigger! 🙂
      I would love to have one of those! Or a food processor, which even I can’t believe I don’t have! 😛
      Thanks! Yours looks great too!

  10. Wow – I can’t believe that snow! Crazy. I admire your dedication for sweating it out at the gym instead. 🙂

    Must try coconut milk in my oats. Yum!

    • I know- it’s mad! Haha, well I thought I was dedicated until I walked past a man running in the snow on my way to the gym! Now THAT is dedication! 😛
      Try it- it makes them lovely and sweet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

