Christmas traditions

Absolute madness. Last night we had more snow than we’ve had the last two days put together. There was 20 inches of it outside my front door! And it kept snowing throughout most of the day! We tried to take my dog (a Miniature Schnauzer) out for a walk, and he almost drowned on numerous occasions! We had to give up in the end and carry him home! Smile with tongue outDSC04221

CRAZY! So it was another stay-at-home day, which I’m not complaining about! Winking smile

I used a lot of this this morning:DSC04219

Deep Heat rub. It numbs muscle aches and pains, and I really needed it today, as I was very achey! I’d never used this before, but it’s really weird! Your muscles feel uncomfortably warm, but did stop me feeling the aches.

To give my aching body a booster for recovery, I had a breakfast Green Monster, with these two:DSC04212

I love this granola. I know I rave about it every day, but it is great! In the mix: 3/4 cup coconut milk, 2 handfuls spinach, 1 banana, 1 scoop protein powder, 3 ice cubes, 1/2 tsp xanthan gum, a couple of handfuls of granola and some cinnamon. Topped with….more granola of course! Open-mouthed smileDSC04216

My favourite GM to date I think! Smile

Lunch was my current favourite: peanut butter sandwich!2962723767_9646d4584a

And I also had PB on toast as part of my afternoon snackage! Smile with tongue out I’ve actually almost finished my jar of peanut butter, and that’s only been open just over a week!

After my boring lunch, I did some baking, but I didn’t get a chance to photograph the finished product before the light went, so I’ll post about it tomorrow once I’ve snapped some shots of it (and tasted it! Winking smile). I’ll give you a hint as to what is was though: it involved LOTS of my favourite spice! Smile

Dinner was slightly more interesting! I made a vegan potato pie with soya mince. And it had this in it:DSC04237

That, my friends, is a purple potato. I’d never heard of these before, but is that just me being naive…? As soon as I saw them yesterday, I had to buy them! Open-mouthed smileDSC04239

I boiled a mix of purple and white potatoes, fried the mince with some chopped red onion and garlic, and then layered in a dish like so:DSC04246

Kept layering (mince on the bottom, more potatoes and more chopped onion on top)DSC04249Then poured some vegan-friendly gravy (made from Bisto Onion Gravy Granules) over the dish, and baked for 50 minutes. Lovely, and so warming! Perfect for this weather!

Dessert was some dark chocolate with cocoa nibs from Whole Foods:DSC04251

Then our family started on the games. We have a tradition of playing lots of games (especially board games) at Christmas. Our American family come over from New York on Christmas Eve every year and stay with us for a week, and we play endless games! We are a very competitive family! Smile with tongue out Today led us gradually into our game-playing season, with a few card games:DSC04263

We played Cheat, Go Fish, and Chase the Ace, and I even won a game! Open-mouthed smile

Do you have any Christmas family traditions? Or just any personal Xmas traditions? Every year I make gingerbread cookies, cut them into Christmasy shapes and then decorate and hang on the tree. And somehow they all magically disappear before Christmas Day arrives! Winking smile 

Hope you’ve had a great day!

16 Responses

  1. We always played a card game called newmarket- we had to save our pennies as you have to bet on the cards- its fun 🙂
    Looking forward to seeing the baking pictures!

  2. I can’t believe how much snow you got! PB sandwiches and dark chocolate…you are my kind of girl! My in-laws spend a day making gingerbread houses and about 300 dollars for the supplies. It is a good time:)

    • I know, we got a CRAZY amount!
      Haha, then you are definitely mine too! 😀
      I’ve always wanted to make a gingerbread house! Not sure I’d want to spend that much on it though…! 😛

  3. Still ridiculously jealous or your snow!! That’d be so much fun!

    My family always drives around to see lights Christmas Eve and we also go to midnight Mass. My mom and I got into putting puzzles together everytime I was home for a while but playing games would be fun, too. I’ll have to suggest that. 🙂

    • Haha, it is really beautiful and fun! 🙂
      That’s a lovely tradition! We always go to an evening service on Christmas Eve too, but not midnight mass. And suggest it- it’s so much fun! 😀

  4. woah purple potatoes! ive never seen those! did they taste any different!?

  5. I loved reading about your christmas traditions! Mike and I are starting to have our own christmas traditions, we’ve got a good routine down so we can see everyone on christmas day! We also go to my grans for christmas eve buffet every year and to hers on boxing day for leftover turkey/veggie turkey for me with stuffing chips and beans, I’m so glad my work hours are allowing me to fit everything in this year!

  6. I would cry if I was out of dark chocolate too….thanks for sharing and making me feel better about my craziness:) Happy Friday!

  7. Is it odd that I can’t enjoy a peanut butter sandwich sans grape jelly? I find using just peanut butter causes the whole thing to stick to my mouth too much, haha. Cool blog!

    • Well I’ve never had a PB+grape jelly sandwich, so I can’t really judge here! 😛 I’ve actually never had a PB+jelly sandwich at all, but I will do soon, never fear! I can’t wait to try this combo that the world raves about! 😀
      Thanks! Yours looks cool too! 🙂

  8. Yummy, yummy!! Everything looks soooo good!!!!! Have you ever had Dark Choc. Dreams PB???? I can seriously go through one of those things in a week!

    • Thanks! Funny you should mention the Dark Choc Dreams! I wrote about it on last Saturday’s post, when I ALMOST bought it in Whole Foods, but decided to save money (because I know I too would go through it in a week!) and NOT buy it. Well I seriously regretted it straight after, and will be back there soon hopefully to buy it! 😀

Leave a Reply

