Chocolate Coma

Hello lovely readers! Open-mouthed smile Very happy right now! Partially because of the amount of chocolate I have consumed today, and partially because I am on a Christmas high right now! I’ve been watching this:ElfDVD-300-2

My favourite Christmas movie!! Followed closely by:1loveactually-dvd

I’m saving that movie for a bit nearer the time…but I’m definitely gonna watch Elf again! Will Ferrell is HILARIOUS! Open-mouthed smile

My amazing chocolate-covered day began with stovetop hot cocoa-banana oatmeal! Smile (Inspired by Kayla)DSC04266

That’s 1/2 cup coconut milk, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 banana and 3 tsp hot chocolate powder. If you have actual cocoa powder, it would probably taste even better with that,  but somehow I don’t have any! Surprised smile Must. Buy.

Anyway, combined oats+milk+water+sliced banana in a pan on the hob for about 4-5 minutes, until thick and bubbling.DSC04264

Removed from heat once the texture is how I like it: nice and thick…DSC04267

…and stirred in the hot cocoa powder…DSC04268

…then topped with the remaining chopped banana:

DSC04273DSC04274

Delicious! And I really needed that warming, chocolatey comfort this morning, after waking up to see this: *cue scary music*DSC04289

Okay, is it just me, or are icicles scary?DSC04287

They had grown since yesterday. A lot.DSC04290

DSC04291

Actually I had a bit of childish fun with my icicles. This involved sharply opening my window and snapping them, whilst giggling madly. As you do! Winking smileDSC04292

On a more serious note, I hadn’t mentioned it before, but over the last week, I’ve been having some pretty bad ankle pain. I’m not sure exactly what I did (I think I may have twisted it in the snow…), but I decided to rest it for a bit. Then, being me, I threw caution to the wind, and hit the gym on Wednesday. I can tell you, running on it didn’t help in the slightest, and it was killing yesterday! But  I rested it and iced it over the last two days, and bought this…DSC04297

…which is really helping! It’s feeling much better today, so I’m going to try some light exercise tomorrow morning (with this on) to see if it’s okay! Fingers crossed! Smile

Back to today! I made a quick trip into town for a few essentials, but there were some serious food shortages because of the snow! In the supermarket, people were starting to panic, because there was absolutely no bread or milk! Scary, huh? Thankfully, we have enough milk for now, and bread flour to make our own bread, but it was a first!empty-grocery-shelves

And I was happy, because I picked up a few things for myself Smile

DSC04302

Vogel’s cereal, dairy free grated cheddar, a Trek cocoa brownie bar, and the strawberry jam that I love! I haven’t tried the vegan cheese or the Trek bar before, so I can’t wait to give them a whirl! Open-mouthed smile

It was sooo cold outside, and even wearing 3 pairs of socks, my toes practically froze off, so I couldn’t wait to snuggle back into my favourite slipper boots!DSC02883

Aren’t they cool? Smile with tongue out

Sometimes, I hate resting and not running/exercising! Today actually wasn’t really one of those days! I actually enjoyed doing pretty much nothing, and watching endless TV! As well as Elf, quite a few episodes of this:

DSC04296

So yes, I watched a lot of TV today! It was between this and Scrubs, both of which I love! Any Criminal Minds/Scrubs fans out there? And while I watched, I munched my way through a lot of this:DSC04322

Fact: Emma loves dark chocolate. Of course, I’m sure y’all already knew that! Smile with tongue out

I think this has been a long enough post as it is, so I’ll do a recipe post from yesterday’s baking adventures tomorrow! Open-mouthed smile Now excuse me while I go into my chocolate coma…

So what are your Christmas movies? And what are your favourite TV series’?

Hope you’ve had a great, chocolate-filled Friday too! Have a great weekend!

20 Responses

  1. I love your slipper boots! I need some new ones, mine are totally falling apart! Christmas movies, chocolate and slipperboots sounds like the perfect thing to do on a snowy day like today!

  2. I’m a dark chocolate fiend too! I use the excuse that it has fairly decent levels of iron in it 😉

    I can’t get over your icicles! Or the fact that there are empty shelves in the supermarket! Be careful with your ankle tomorrow: stick to the gym, and non-impact stuff 🙂

    • Haha that’s a good excuse! I use the ‘I’m PMS-ing’ excuse most! 😛
      I know, they’re HUGE! They’ve melted a bit today, but still scary! And yes, that was weird too!
      Thanks for the advice! I decided against it this morning, as it wasn’t feeling great, but my fingers are crossed that I can try again tomorrow! 🙂

  3. Elf is one of my favorites too! Love actually is a winner too… I like “The Family Stone” and “The Holiday.”

  4. It’s mad the way people panic-buy… You want to go round with a microphone shouting “no one is going to starve”!
    Luckily, my tastes are weird so I should be ok – and I live so far out in the sticks, I can’t get to any shops anyway!
    When I do though, I might consider some panic-buying of my own; my chocolate raisin stash is running VERY low 🙂

    • I know, I felt the same way! Jeez, some people…! 😛
      Haha same! It was funny, because they had absolutely NO dairy milk, but the shelves were fully of soy, rice, and other non-dairy milks, so I was fine!
      Oh no! I genuinely do feel for you! Much more of a catastrophe than a lack of bread!

  5. I love both those movies! Also, I am obsessed with the cartoon Christmas shows like Ruldolph.

  6. please let me know how you like the vegan cheese! im curious to buy some myself!
    icicles!! DANG girl!

  7. Wow amazing icicles 🙂 and also quite scary!
    I love The Snowman, it is my ultimate christmas film- reminds me of being little and all excited about the day ahead- always watch it at christmas without fail 🙂

    • VERY scary! Wouldn’t want to walk under those…!
      Oh yes, I forgot about the Snowman! I don’t really like watching it though…it’s too sad! I always cry loads! But it is a great Christmas movie! 😀

  8. Trek bars are lush! I love Scrooge with Bill Murray. I watched it yesterday – so good! I have very similar sized icicles on my roof too. Very glad I made a shopping trip earlier in the week, can’t believe they were sold out like that x

  9. […] Pre-exercise brekkie was my usual PB on toast, and post-workout breakfast was choco-banana oatmeal: […]

  10. I do the same thing for my oatmeal! but i put in ALOT of cocoa powder..to the point it turns super dark:)

  11. […] Breakfast was some lovely choco-banana oatmeal: […]

  12. […] was breakfast.  I was SO excited to try a banana and cocoa powder oatmeal recipe I saw on Sweet Tooth Runner’s […]

Leave a Reply

