Cinnamon cake with spiced buttercream

Hello lovelies! Smile

After mentioning yesterday my ankle pain, I was all ready to try and do a light run today. I fuelled up this morning with cereal+coconut milk+a banana:DSC04323

I hadn’t had cereal+milk in ages! Missed it! Anyway, during walking around the house this morning, the ankle wasn’t feeling 100%, or even 70% sadly, so I decided it would be better to be safe than sorry, and try again tomorrow. Let’s hope it’s fully recovered by then! Smile

So instead, I helped with prepping the Christmas presents!DSC04329

Today we are having a big family get-together with my mum’s side of the family, who we only really see a couple of times a year. So today is the big present swapping time! Open-mouthed smile I put myself in charge of Christmas music at our intense wrapping session:DSC04327

DSC04328Singing loudly (and out-of-tunely!) to ‘12 Days of Christmas’ whilst present wrapping really gets you in the Christmas spirit! Don’t forget people, the words of my hero:Elf-Quotes

Oh yes. Not sure if my family would agree though! Smile with tongue out If I didn’t convey it clearly enough yesterday, I love Elf! Open-mouthed smile 

All wrapped up:DSC04330

And put into a giant Christmas bag:DSC04332

Yay! I can’t wait to see the look of excitement on my little cousins’ faces! They get so excited about presents! Well so do I, but I don’t run around screaming “prezzie time” as they did last year! Smile with tongue out

Back to Thursday quickly! I was really in a baking mood, and in a cinnamony mood. What a surprise! So I decided to bake a cinnamon cake! Smile (Cake based on this recipe and the buttercream based on Angela’s recipe.)

Cinnamon Cake with Spiced Buttercream

  • 250g flour (I used half wholemeal spelt and half plain/all-purpose)
  • 200g sugar
  • 1 heaped tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda/bicarbonate of soda
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon (I would recommend using more, but then I am a cinnamon addict! Smile with tongue out)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 225ml buttermilk*
  • 4 tablespoons oil (I used melted vegan spread)
  • 2 normal or flax eggs (2 tbsp ground flax+6 tbsp warm water,  whisked and left for 5 mins)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Spiced buttercream:

  • 105g icing sugar
  • 110g butter/vegan spread, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp milk (I used coconut milk)
  • 0.5 tbsp cinnamon
  • 0.5 tbsp mixed spice

*I made my own (vegan) buttermilk. I took 1 tablespoon vinegar (or lemon juice) and poured into a cup. I added in (soy) milk to equal 1 cup. Stir and let stand for 10 minutes, then measured out 225ml and used that.

Method:

  1. Make the buttermilk and flax eggs if you need. . Preheat oven to 180C / 350F. Grease/line a 9x5in loaf tin.
  2. Place all ingredients (except the buttercream ingredients) into large mixing bowl. Beat 3 minutes with an electric mixer. Pour into prepared loaf tin and smooth the top.
  3. Bake for approx 50 mins, then once ready remove cake from tin and leave to cool on a wire cooling rack.
  4. To make the buttercream, whip the butter with a mixer until smooth. Add about half of the icing sugar mix again until smooth. Then add in the vanilla, spices, and milk (if needed). Mix well. Add in the remaining icing sugar and blend for several minutes, stopping to scrape the sides of the bowl. Once the cake has fully cooled (and make sure it is, or the buttercream will melt!), spread on the icing using a wet spatula.
  5. Enjoy! Open-mouthed smile

DSC04275

In my opinion, a perfectly frosted cake is highly overrated! Smile with tongue out The cake was delicious, and the frosting was soo good! Licking the frosting bowl was possibly the best bit of my Thursday! Winking smile If anything, I would add more cinnamon next time to the cake, but my official tasters (my family) thought it was fine as it was. Guess it’s down to personal taste, but in my opinion, you can never have enough cinnamon! Smile with tongue out

Anyway, off now to the family Christmas get-together in London, and when I get back, I’ll hopefully have my first Christmas presents to put under my currently non-existent Christmas tree! It’s okay, we’re putting ours up tomorrow! Have you already got your tree up? If, like me, you haven’t, when is yours going up? Do you have a specific date when you put your tree up? We always put ours up on the first weekend in December, and I can’t wait! Smile

Have a great weekend! And don’t forget the best way to spread Christmas cheer…! Open-mouthed smile

12 Responses

  1. ihaven’t done ANY decorating! i’m still convinced its october ahah… usually we start decorating …. umm the 21st ahahah so we are quite last minute!

  2. Yum that looks good- another cinnamon addict here 🙂
    I have not put up my tree yet but I really want to!

  3. Aww, you seem so christmassy! My tree goes up on the first everyyear, I love it 😀

  4. The recipe for that cake sounds wonderful, I may have to give that one a try for sure! We don’t have the room for a full size tree and with the bad weather we haven’t been able to get out and buy a smaller one so we are making do at the moment with some funky festive twigs in a vase!

  5. Have a great time! I love wrapping presents and listening to christmas music. Our tree went up on the 3rd, basically ASAP in December, I loooooooove christmas decorations 🙂

  6. Wow you are going all out on the Christmas cheer! 🙂 And as for frosting, the only thing that’s important is that there is a lot of it. Nothing else matters 😉

  7. Yay for gift swaps!! Those are always so much fun. I bet your cousins are going to be love it all!

  8. I like to put our tree up on December 1st. But this year we are waiting until we have moved into our new house!!

  9. Elf is my favorite Christmas movie. Your cinnamon cake looks awesome!

  10. Looks like you are having loadsa fun getting ready for Christmas. That cake looks lovely, I think I may have to bake one myself!

  11. Licking the frosting is the best part!

  12. Great stuff. I am getting hungry just thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

