I RAN! And it didn’t hurt!

I must confess, I did go against advice as far as running+my ankle goes. I couldn’t help it! My ankle felt really good this morning, as did my resolve! I was all set to just use the exercise bike+weights at the gym. But this sight was just too darn tempting:treadmill

Okay, normally I am not a treadmill fan. But when you are desperate because everywhere around you is covered in a thick sheet of ice, you do what you have to! Anyway, I did speed intervals (12mph—>8mph—>12mph etc) for just 10 minutes, as I didn’t want to overdo it! But my ankle felt fine! Yay! Open-mouthed smile

I also made my first wholemeal bread from scratch today!DSC04408

I enjoyed a slice spread with dairy-free spread as part of my afternoon snack. I know I’ve said it before, but nothing beats fresh, warm homemade bread. SmileDSC04424

Oh, and breakfast was quite a typical Emma screw-up. Was going for 3/4 cup of oats as usual, and thought I was using three scoops out of my 1/4 cup, but it turned out I’d used my 1/3 cup! So ended up with a full cup of oats! Smile with tongue outDSC04412

Typical! I thought it looked like a lot of oats! So this made for one filling breakfast! Kept me going right until lunch!

And I could no longer resist. I had to do it:

DSC04413

Oh yes. Bringing back pumpkin! When all other food bloggers have moved on, I stand fast by it! SmileDSC04414

Don’t you just love the colour it goes? Or is it just me in my pumpkin adoration?DSC04419

Oh, and I mentioned a few posts back about the main race I want to run in 2011- The Royal Parks Half Marathon:royalparkslogo

I’m thinking of trying to get a charity place for it, when registration opens. I know how hard this is to get, and then you’ve got the extra worry of trying to reach the agreed amount for fundraising even if you do get a charity place, but do you think this is a good idea? Have you ever run as part of a charity team in a race, or do you know anyone who has? If you haven’t, would you consider doing it?

This has been a stressy week for me- and tomorrow’s going to be no exception! But hopefully I’ll get some therapeutic baking done in the evening! Smile If you’re having a tough week too, then just remember like I am that it’s almost the weekend! And just 17 days until Christmas! Open-mouthed smile So I hope you guys have a great and  not-too-stressful remainder of the week!

14 Responses

  1. yAY FOR running 🙂 And it not hurting!
    I have never run for a charity team, but I have run a few races where I have got sponsorship for the charities.

  2. I ran the Great North Run for Cancer Research UK and it was ace! Wow those speeds on the treadmill or awesome, my fastest intervals are ran at 8mph! Glad your ankle wasn’t hurting tho x

    • Oh wow, I’d love to run that one day! Kinda far away from where I live, but it sounds great! And that’s really great!
      Haha well it was a bit of a challenge, but I’m trying to build up my speed anyway! Thanks 🙂

  3. Glad your ancle was ok. I’m longing for a treadmill at the moment haha! I haven’t been able to run properly for aages, just daren’t run on this ice! I have the same measuring cups as you !

    • Thanks 🙂
      Oh same- I’d love a treadmill! Even though I don’t like them, when the outside conditions are like this, I’d take anything! 😛 I currently pay quite a lot to use my gym’s treadmill, because I’m not a member. So the snow+ice is really making a dent in my budget!

  4. YEs i love pumpkin and the color is the best part! ahah
    quick question: did you find Larabars at WF?

  5. I’m right with you, girl. Holding onto pumpkin for as long as I can!

  6. don’t you just love it when it doesn’t hurt to run anymore after an injury? 🙂 best feeling eevveerr!

  7. I have pumpkin all year if I can!

Leave a Reply

