Tempeh time!

Hello lovelies! Smile

Breakfast was a  delicious warming bowl of pumpkin-spiced-raisin oatmeal! It was: 3/4 cup oats, 3/4 cup coconut milk, 1/2 cup water, 2 tbsp pumpkin, and some cinnamon and mixed spice:DSC04425

I can’t believe I was ever a person who always skipped breakfast. It is my favourite meal of the day now! Can’t live without a good breakfast!

DSC04428

I was going to go to a step class today, but seeing as I ran yesterday, I decided to play it safe with my ankle! But I might try another short treadmill run tomorrow, and am praying that it’s fine then! Smile

Lunch was a salad, with sweetcorn, avocado, tomato and a few other things:corn-avacado-tomato-salad-450x337

Funny about the avocado, because I’ve seen it all over blog posts today! Julie also had avocado in her lunch, and Angela’s chocolate tart that she posted the recipe for today has lots of avocado in it! Small world! Smile

I also rediscovered rice cakes today! I’d forgotten how much I love these! They made a big feature in my afternoon snackage! I started with one topped with PB and one with Marmite:DSC04399

And then went on to have a PB rice cake sandwich:DSC04430

x 2! Open-mouthed smile

Dinner featured a new food for me:DSC04437

I wasn’t sure quite what I wanted to do with it, but decided on simply frying it in EVOO spray then tossing in soy sauce, as this is what I usually do with tofu when I’m in a hurry. The pack says it serves two. Really?DSC04438

I served half the tempeh with two baked sweet potatoes and sautéed courgette/zucchini.DSC04443

Huh, one serving of tempeh! Hmm, not quite sure about tempeh to be honest. It grew on me the more I ate of it, but not sure whether I really like it or not! I prefer tofu at the moment, but I think I’ll try doing other things with tempeh and see if I like it better in a different way. Have you tried tempeh? Do you like it?

Dessert was, of course, dark choccie!DSC04363

In my book, there is no such thing as a bad day when dark chocolate is involved! Open-mouthed smile

This Saturday will involve some serious Christmas shopping. I am swapping presents with some friends on Monday, so I am slightly worried that I have no presents yet! Confused smile Can you imagine how busy  the shops are going to be this weekend? I actually like the mad Christmas shopping crush, but most people I know hate it! Do you love or hate Christmas shopping madness?

TGIF tomorrow! Have a good Friday! Smile

26 Responses

  1. I have decided to do all my Christmas shopping online this year – it’s too crazy otherwise!

  2. yum, the oats look great

  3. Good luck Christmas shopping! I love going a few times and seeing all of the decorations, but only when I have time that the parking, crowds, and random crazy people don’t annoy me haha

  4. I have some Tempeh that I need to use up, but I have to say that it doesn’t look very appetising!

  5. I hate the shopping madness!!! I can’t believe I used to skip b-fast too…it is the best part of my day ha!! Good call on the rice cake sandwich…I need to get those. I have never tried tempeh ahh, now I need too!!!!

    P.S. I love speed intervals too!

    • TELL me about it! I think I must have been completely insane! Breakfast is what gets me up in the mornings!
      Okay then, tempeh and rice cakes are officially on your shopping list! 😛
      Speed intervals are the best! Did some more today! 🙂

  6. I love tempeh! I haven’t had it in a while, because I haven’t found it for a good price.

  7. i totally recommend putting pb or jam on tempeh! sounds odd, but for some reason it totally works!

  8. Breakfast is by far my favourite meal of the day! I’ve never tried tempeh as I’ve never seen it for sale anywhere, although after yours and jemmas comments I think I may just stick to my favourite tofus 🙂

  9. Thanks for the comment on my blog. Spicy chickpea stew sounds great – do you have a recipe?

  10. I’ve tried tempeh, but it was kind of a haphazard effort and didn’t turn out very well. I’d be willing to try it again, but I’m also more of a fan of tofu!

  11. I love tempeh for the taste if it’s prepared just right..but I hate the serving size. I prefer my food to be bulky! Otherwise it just doesn’t work at filling me up.

    Good luck Christmas shopping tomorrow! I gotta hop to that, too. I haven’t even started and haven’t a clue what to get everyone. :/

    • Oh good- it’s not just me and my oversized portions then! I NEED to be filled up too, otherwise it’s just not worth it!
      Thanks! I’m exactly the same, so good luck to you too! 🙂

  12. I tried tempeh (that brand in fact) but I didnt like it- had a weird texture and not much flavour even though I marinated it for ages. I didnt even manage half the pack- I couldnt finish the serving. But then I dont like meat, or the texture, and dont eat meat replacements so maybe that is why.
    Gotta love breakfast 🙂

    • I though the same! But I did prefer it when I had it today for some reason…maybe it grows on you the more you have it? That may well be why then! 😛
      BREAKFAST IS THE BEST! 🙂 We have officially decided!

  13. Ooh, rice cakes!! I’ve forgotten about those!

    I’ve never had tempeh and I’ve only had tofu once!

Leave a Reply

