Pumpkin Spelt Pancakes

I am very happy, wonderful readers, because I have a camera again! Borrowed one from my parents, and celebrated this event by having pumpkin pancakes for breakfast! Open-mouthed smile And who doesn’t love a cute little stack of pancakes to brighten up their morning?DSC04460

Pumpkin Spelt Pancakes (adapted from Angela’s recipe)

  • 1/2 cup wholegrain spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used coconut)
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or mixed spice)
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Spray a pan with EVOO spray (or just use oil) and heat it on medium/low. Mix dry ingredients together. Then stir together the wet separately (pumpkin+milk), and add to dry. Stir until a batter is formed. Then spoon (I used a tablespoon) onto the pan and cook for a couple of minutes until lightly browned, then flip and do the same for the other side. Makes 5 mini pancakes (serves 1). Add toppings and enjoy! Open-mouthed smile

First, assemble the ingredients:DSC04467

Mix together the dry ingredients:DSC04446

Stir together wet ingredients, and admire the colour!DSC04445

Dry+wet:DSC04451

Flipping is the scary bit! I’ve never been an expert pancake flipper, but will be someday! Smile with tongue outDSC04457 

The batter is really quite thick, which results in quite thick, fluffy pancakes. Just how I like ‘em! Winking smile I simply topped mine with agave nectar, but you can get really creative with your toppings. The possibilities are endless! Open-mouthed smile

DSC04463

Oooh…fluffiness…DSC04464

Cardio today was a five hour crazy shopping trip. Trust me, this was one hell of a workout! Smile with tongue out I succeeded in getting most presents and in severely depleting the savings in my bank account. But it was worth it! Lunch was had at Pret, and was a chunky houmous salad wrap.DSC04468

DSC04469

During my marathon trip, I stopped often to admire the lights and decorations, which were really quite good this year!DSC04471

This is less than half the bags I ended up with:DSC04473

The rest are still in my car, as I couldn’t carry them all out at once! Smile with tongue out I also got given a Trek flapjack for free (yay!) by the nice lady at the health store, which I’m adding to my stash! SmileDSC04475

I have a question. Is it wrong to read the books you have bought for other people as a present? Its just that I bought this for a friend…DSC04476

…and have been perusing it for quite a while now! I can’t help it- I love recipe books! Open-mouthed smile 

The rest of the afternoon was spent finishing putting up the Christmas decorations in the house. Obviously this had to be done wearing a Santa hat. Like it? Smile with tongue outDSC04482

I am one cool being!DSC04481

Afternoon snackage included a bowl of Ultra Bran cereal+coconut milk:DSC04479

I love Saturday nights! Partly because it is X Factor time, and partly because Saturday nights are Ready-Meal Night. Tonight I chose Innocent’s Indian Daal veg pot.DSC04485 Not only does this have 3 portions of veg in it, but it was suitable for vegetarians+vegans and has a whopping 34.6g of protein in it! Win! Open-mouthed smileDSC04490

How is your Christmas shopping going? I’ve got all the presents I need for my friends (thank goodness!), and am ordering the family’s online! And do you have certain food ‘nights’? As well as Ready-Meal Saturday, I have Quick-From-The-Freezer Friday, so two lazy nights in a row! Smile with tongue out

Hope you’re having a great weekend! Enjoy your Sunday Smile

27 Responses

  1. Yum! I wish I had your talent for making pancakes…and stamina for shopping. I’m too much of a tomboy…I get bored and frustrated after five minutes in shops. Unless they’re health food shops that is 😉

    ~Jess~
    xxx

    • Haha, thanks for the compliment, but I don’t think I’m a pancake-making talent! 😛
      Seriously, much as I love shopping, health shops and book stores are where I spend most of my time anyway! 🙂

  2. Hahah, I love healthy ready-made meals! I don’t really have a special meal night but I do try and make my Monday morning breakfasts the tastiest 🙂 Coffee helps, too!

  3. Those pancakes look perfect!! And the best size, too. 20 smaller pancakes is way better than 2 huge ones. 😉

  4. im actually in love with everything you ate today- pancakes =- YES i just had some yesterday and now Im on a pancake kick, Pret- I LOVE pret.. good sandwiches on the go- nice and fresh! annndd innocent pots– i really like those! i had a mushroom risotto one once!

  5. Your hat is cute! I wanted pumpkin pancakes for breakfast but didn’t have a good recipe. Now I do 🙂

  6. Hurray for getting a camera to use! It looks like you got a lot of shopping done – I had pumpkin pancakes for breakfast yesterday too! The key to flipping is using a small spatula… particularly one that bends! 🙂

  7. hello (-:
    I just found your blog, and love it! It’s so good to read about U.K. products!!
    Glad you had a good shopping trip…sounds like a fantastic, if somewhat exhausting, day! The Green and Black’s book sounds just a little bit perfect 🙂
    I will certainly keep reading! xxxx

  8. I definitely have food nights. I’m the opposite to you on Saturday’s though, that’s usually when I like to cook something elaborate. The rest of the week I live off batch-cooking and soup 🙂

  9. I totally read or scan books that I buy for friends…I’m always crazy careful though not to bend the cover back too far so they don’t know…it’s hysterical to see me try to read a book opening it only just a sliver…maybe one of these days I’ll get smart and start buying hardbacks!

  10. Yum those pancakes look so yummy 🙂
    I normally spend longer cooking at the weekends, and have batch cooking or quicker things for in the week when I am busy 🙂

  11. Love those pics of you, so funny! Glad you made a dint in your Christmas shopping. I do have regular nights sometimes – Monday nights I always have a spirutein shake for my desert and Friday night I usually have protein ice cream! I really want to try those veg pots – they look amazing.

  12. not to self: must make pancakes asap 🙂

  13. I’m so behind on my christmas shopping! It’s my worst year haha just had too many days at work! Those pancakes look scrummy, it’s been too long since I had pancakes!

    • Well even with all this I’m still behind! I still have to buy my family presents! I’m sure you’ll manage it though 🙂
      Have pancakes! I hadn’t had them in ages either, so it was great!

  14. Hello, new reader here! Those pancakes look really good, I wish I didn’t have to go to work super early tomorrow, otherwise I’d make some for a leisurely breakfast!

Leave a Reply

