Strength Training post–The Basics

Hello friends! Smile

Here, as promised, it part 1 of the strength training post! This was one of the requests I received, and since this is such a big topic, I’m doing it in two parts. So look out for Part 2 later this week! Open-mouthed smile

*Disclaimer*: I am in no way experienced, or qualified, to advise on strength training. I am still learning myself, but I will post about what I know and what works for me! I have researched thoroughly, and I post these facts to the best of my knowledge. Also, the images used do not belong to me.

There are so many benefits to strength training, and most of these have only been discovered fairly recently, hence the sudden rise in popularity.

5 Reasons to strength train:

  1. Good for your bones. Lifting weights increases your bone density, thereby reducing your risk of bone diseases, such as osteoporosis (which us women are particularly prone to!)
  2. Reduces injury risk from other activities. Strength training creates strong ligaments and tendons, which support the joints.
  3. It increases your metabolism. Strength training can increase muscle fibre size. Once enlarged, they consume more energy, consequently increasing the metabolism.
  4. Has positive effects on day-to-day life. Strength training enables the performance daily activities that require lifting, pushing and pulling with much more ease.
  5. The results can be seen and felt quickly! A more muscular and toned physique does not take long to build (given certain factors such as diet.) Positive results = more confidence!

There are so many more benefits, but this would be a ridiculously long post if I put them all! Smile with tongue out Here is a link to a recent Fitsugar post about the benefits (link). However, there are also a lot of myths surrounding strength training. So here are a few of the more commonly known ones you may have heard: 

3 Strength training myths

  1. Strength training makes you look bulky and masculine– This is a common fear that women have, but it is not true! Women do not have the same hormones as men, which allows them to build bulk. Women body-builders often take drugs to counter this, but all it will give you is a more toned physique! You will not end up looking like these bodybuilders!strength-training259d8811b0caff11_body-builder
  2. If you stop strength training your muscles turn into fat/ strength training turns fat into muscle– Muscle and fat are two totally different things! Muscle can be lost through inactivity and other causes, but it doesn’t turn into fat! And likewise strength training doesn’t turn fat into muscle. It builds muscle and burns fat.
  3. Fat can be reduced in certain areas with targeted exercises– How and where fat is lost depends on, among other things, genetics, hormones and age. Targeted exercises, such as abdominal crunches, will only affect the muscle in the area, not the fat there. So if you want abs like this…3-strength-training-exercises-women-shed-fat-fast

…doing 30 crunches a day may not help you get there!

So how do I go about strength training?

  • Going to a exercise class that deals with this is a good way! I’m a huge fan of BodyPump, which can definitely give you great results! This is just one example though- there are many other classes that can give equally impressive results.body_pump
  • Buying a set of handweights/dumbbells and using those. There are various exercise routines that can be found online with dumbbells, if you need.aa-women-weighttraining-600
  • Using weight machines at a gym. These vary greatly from gym to gym, but are very easy to use, and you can use the exact resistance you want.Gym_02
  • Actual strength training isn’t the only way to build muscle, and to attain a toned physique. Other activities such as yoga require plenty of strength, and so can build muscle. So if using weights isn’t for you, it isn’t a problem!imagesCADVHV1T

In Part 2 of my strength training post later this week, I will post one of my own strength training routines, how to go about training, and about nutrition and strength training. Please do bear in mind though that I am not an expert, but this is all personally learnt information and experiences that was requested!

So do you do any strength training, or do you want to? What exactly do you do, and has it/is it giving you results? Please feel free to leave your own thoughts, tips etc on this topic!

Hope this was helpful to all of you, and particularly to those who requested it! Smile Tomorrow will be a normal post again!

18 Responses

  1. Brilliant and very well-informed/researched post! You seem to know more about strength training than many certified coaches I’ve met!

    It’s difficult to find much too add to what you’ve said, but I know that I adore strength training. It makes me feel so empowered and was a lifesaver when I couldn’t run due to injury. Body Pump is my favourite way to strength train and I think it’s great that you’ve recently discovered the classes and how wonderful they are 🙂

  2. Lol, I just came back from a “cardio kickbox” class and I’m feeling super strong 🙂 I love this post! I can’t wait to see your strength training routine as I love learning new techniques and moves and stuff!

  3. Bob Harper’s workout videos all include strength training and get your heart rate up there so you are getting a great cardio workout at the same time. I love killing two birds with one stone but getting both my cardio and strength in at the same time.

  4. I’ve heard so many fantastic things about Body Pump, I think I have to try it!

  5. great great post! I didnt realize that fat and muscle were lost and built separately!

  6. I’ve just developed my own strength training plan, I think its essential to any workout programme for all the reasons you mentioned above!

  7. Such an insightful post. I do a lot of muscular structure work that incorporates some strength training, but I would like to build up a routine that used more weights.

  8. Great researched post! those pictures of the bodybuilders are kinda scary hah. I’ve always known the benefits of strength training, but not until the past few weeks have I done it. I’ve noticed strength from yoga, but want to use weights more often.

    • Thanks! And yes, those bodybuilders are scary…wouldn’t like to run into one of them on a dark nigh huh? 😛

      Yoga definitely is great for strength, but a combination of that and weights will be even better! 😀

  9. I go through phases with strength training—right now I’m doing a lot of circuit training and also focusing on yoga. I’ll probably change it up in a week or so 🙂

    ~Lisa

  10. Great post, very interesting. And I never knew what bodypump was before, looks ace!

  11. great post – i think a lot of us always forget that strength training is good for our bones! so important for us ladies 🙂

  12. I don’t really do any strength training… its bad I know! The thing is, I actually like strength training, I used to go to circuit training, in which I loved the strength bits! I’m still pretty new to exercising in general, and so it is something I want to add to my routine. I did the 30 Day Shred yesterday, and I can definitely feel it today! I’ll hopefully be able to due regularly from now on!

  13. […] is Part 2 of the Strength Training post. The first part- the Basics- can be read here, as can my disclaimer (important-please read!!). By the way, if you aren’t very interested in […]

Leave a Reply

