Fire shoes

Hey friends! Smile

I am SO excited! Yesterday night, after reading your opinions on my running shoes (majority orange > green, and I agree!), I decided to go ahead and order the orange. BUT the orange shoes in my size had gone out of stock! Surprised smileThe green wasn’t though…was it a sign? I kept looking though, and found some similar but even better shoes!

Fire shoes!

 

 Saucony Lady Grid Type A3 racing flats! They’re a better model (lighter etc.) than the other ones, and actually worked out cheaper too on Wiggle, even though they are normally much more expensive! Seeing that there was only one pair left in my size, it was a mad rush to find my credit card and order in time before some other evil person snatched them up, but I got them! And can’t wait till they arrive!!! My feet will look like they’re on fire! Open-mouthed smile

I had an ‘easy’ run today to stretch out my legs after all the speedwork, and I really loved it! I took a different route spur-of-the-moment, got a little lost when dreaming about the Fire Shoes, but eventually found my way back in the rain!

DSC05784

Runner's high!

< 5 miles in 38 mins. I wanted to go further, but had to quickly change and get ready for BodyPump!

DSC05786

Ma setup

Biceps are the hardest. Hands down. Squats are the most fun! Smile

I found my new favourite pre-workout snack by the way!

DSC05793

What. A. Dork.

It’s called Dippy Banana. Instead of spreading nut butter on your banana, you just go ahead and dip it right in there! Dip, munch, dip, munch. Awesome. You need drippy nut butter (like my almond butter) by the way, and trust me, you’ll never want to go back to the traditional/boring spreading. Double dipping is much more fun! Smile with tongue outbanana_peanutbutter

This totally made me dream of banana-nut butter muffins/cookies. I don’t know if they exist, but I must make some! Smile

Snackage also included baked beans on some delicious toasted pumpkin seed rye bread from The Haul. The pumpkin seeds made this bread- such a great texture and flavour!DSC05779

‘Baked beans?!’ I hear you scoff. Well, just half a can provides 1/4 of your RDA of protein! So take that baked bean prudes! Smile with tongue out I, of course, had the whole can. Never do things by halves.DSC05781 “Baked beans are good for the heart…” I’ll pretend I’ve forgotten the rest of the words! Winking smile

So my Monday was pretty awesome! Made all the more so by seeing Jemma’s amazing Nakd bar giveaway! I recently won her last giveaway, and am still loving the 30 Mule Bars I won as a result! Fingers crossed for a second win! Smile with tongue out

So I’m interested to hear what you think about when you’re running/working out. I usually think about things happening in my life (Fire Shoes!), or play imaginary games with myself, like pretend there are dragons chasing me or something. Because in my head I am still an 8 year old. So what do you think about?

Also, what is your favourite pre-workout snack? If it’s a long run, my standard is peanut butter+banana sandwich before, but a normal run is a Dippy Banana now! Open-mouthed smile

Hope you had a great Monday too! Smile

P.S. My Tone-Up strength training challenge starts today! Good luck to those who’re joining me with it! I have taken my embarrassing ‘Before’ photo and measurements, so can’t wait for the results!!

16 Responses

  1. Hey! Woah those shoes look fab! Good going with your 5 miler. I like bananas and nut butter too, or just a handful of nuts and raisins. Does the trick! oh….and I love baked beans 🙂 x x x

  2. I think about the most random things when I’m running – what’s going on in life, new ideas, what’s pissing me off – and I love it! Pre-workout snack is just like yours! 🙂

  3. Oooh, I just LOVE baked beans!!

  4. The best part of dippy bananas is no dirtying any knives from spreading…I hate dirtying & washing dishes. Those shoes are just as great as the other ones – people will think you’re on fire while running so fast!

  5. So glad you got those shoes, they look awesome! It depends on the workout I’m doing for what I tend to think about, if I’m doing a more relaxed workout I love to let my mind wander – usually on to what I’m having for my tea! If its more intense I’m usually concentrating really hard and can’t think of anything else!

  6. I love baked beans but sadly they don’t like me 😛 That rhyme is indeed true.

    I really am the Queen of TMI, no?

    Those running shoes are amazing! I didn’t weigh in on the shoe debate before because I am horribly ditzy and missed the post, but those ones are superior to the others anyway.

    Ah, dippy bananas. I’m so pleased you’ve discovered the joy of this wonderful snack. I usually think about food when running or races I’d like to enter. Pretty similar to the rest of the time, really! Or I’m thinking ‘ow! Which bloomin injury is playing up THIS time!!?!’

  7. DRIPPY BANANA YAY!! and beans on toast– love it. so british! shoes look great.. and wow a run then bodypump!! work it girl!

  8. Peanut butter and banana makes a great pre or post workout snack!

  9. don’t fuel or recover feed from workouts. it’s terrible; I know it would change my performance a lot

  10. I love baked beans! Great job on doing 5 miles and then body pump, I’m going to have to try a body pump class soon, sounds like fun!

  11. I love granola as a pre-workout snack.

    does all the protein from your nut butter before the workout not hurt your tummy? I can’t do any nut butters pre-working. travesty!

    I love the idea of the bright shoes. have you heard of Newtons? I want the bright pink ones! be sure to let me know how you like the new ones. 🙂

  12. I want a dippy banana!

    Congrats on the fire shoes. I love them…new running shoes are so great. I love getting packages in the mail too, so I totally feel your excitement 🙂

  13. The banana/nut butter (especially almond) is my favourite combination! This sounds revolting but if you mash the banana and microwave it on high till it melts, then stir in the almond butter, it’s the most amazing mix ever 🙂

Leave a Reply

