Chewy protein granola bars

Hello friends! Open-mouthed smile

Do I have an awesome recipe to share with you guys today or what?!

Y’all know that I love granola. And I love healthy energy bars. And I love chewiness. As in chewy cookies. Mmm… So anyway, I combined all these things in my baking today to produce this beauty:DSC05832

Chewy protein granola bars (based on this recipe from Allrecipes.com)

Makes approx 12 large bars.

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar (Note: I found this quite little sweet (even for me!) so I would recommend trying 1/2 cup, but it’s up to you)
  • 1/2 cup protein powder (optional- add 1/2 cup wheat germ, wheat bran, etc. otherwise)
  • 1 cup spelt flour (or flour of your choice- any will work)
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup dried fruits (I used 1/4 cup sultanas, 1/4 cup dried blueberries, 1/4 cup chopped dried apricots)
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar (or honey)
  • 1/2 large banana,  beaten
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce (Note: this makes it very applesauce-y. I love applesauce, so this is a good thing for me, but you can reduce it to 1/2 cup for a slightly crunchier texture, or use 1/2 applesauce+ 1/2 oil)
  • 2 tsp vanilla/other extract (I used 1t vanilla+1t almond)
  1. Preheat your oven to 350F/175C. Grease a 9×13 inch pan well.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together all dry ingredients (oats, sugar, wheat germ, protein powder, flour, cinnamon, salt and dried fruits).
  3. Make a well in the centre of the mix, and pour in all the wet ingredients (all the remainding ones), and mix well.
  4. Bake for approx 25-30 mins until the bars turn golden at the edges. Cool for 5 mins, then cut into bars straight away for easy cutting. Enjoy! Smile

Gather all the dry ingredients into a bowl, and try not to eat too much dried fruit as you go like I did! Smile with tongue outDSC05807

Add the wet and mix well!

DSC05809

DSC05810

Spread evenly into your pan, and pat down. I found that this didn’t fill my 9×13 pan without thinning out too much (I like thick bars!), so I left a couple of inches at the end.DSC05815

Bake away! It only took 22 mins at 165C in my fan-assisted oven.DSC05817

After 5 mins of cooling, cut into bars or smaller squares, your call.DSC05827

I chose large bars of course! Smile

DSC05823

And enjoy! I certainly did! Open-mouthed smileSO delicious, and filling! Full of protein, fibre, fruit and energy!DSC05832

I cling-filmed the bars to keep them fresh. Perfect for slipping into my bag for some energy and protein pre or post workout!DSC05837

The best thing about this recipe is that it is totally customisable! For example, you could try:

  • Adding in nuts/cacao nibs for a slight crunch in the texture
  • Using a variety of other dried fruits, or even chocolate chips!
  • Adding canned pumpkin (and reducing applesauce accordingly)
  • Making them more crunchy by reducing the applesauce to 1/2 cup
  • Adding 1/4 cup of nut butter (and reducing applesauce by 1/4 cup)

I can’t wait to try out some of these other subs! I’m thinking a PB and chocolate chip crunchy granola bar? Open-mouthed smile

So what are you- a chewy or a crunchy person? I am definitely a chewy person mostly! Cookies come to mind- I’ll take a soft chewy cookie over a crunchy one any day! The only exception I can think of is in fact granola, but I prefer chewy bars to crunchy ones, hence this recipe! I’m going to try a crunchy version too though to compare Smile

And what is your favourite dried fruit, or are you not a dried fruit person? I love love LOVE dried fruit!! I love them all, but my favourite has to be dried apricots I think!

P.S. Going along with my healthy bar theme today, I thought you should all know that the lovely Freya is hosting an amazing Nakd giveaway! Haha this is actually the third time running I’ve promoted someone’s giveaway! Loving the giveaways!!

P.P.S. Because of the sudden surge in blogger giveaways here in England (not complaining- I think it’s really really great!!), I’m going to be putting off my own one for a bit to spread them out! But never fear, it will come! I’ll just leave you in suspense for a little longer! Smile with tongue out

Love you all! Have a great week! Open-mouthed smile

15 Responses

  1. I love a goid snack bar and these look fab!!! 🙂

  2. Wow that looks great! I bought some rude health oat puff cereal with the intention of making them into cereal bars, but never got around to it. I prefer chewy cereal bars, but I like a crisp pizza base, no soggy deep pan for me! I also prefer gooey brownie to overcooked brownie. 🙂

  3. those bars look great! i’m a soft and chewy kinda gal! x

  4. SUCCESS!! Those look so freakin delicious!!! Thanks for sharing!

  5. I made some of these today too!! But yours look better…. Story of my life 😉

  6. ahhh well i cant wait when you do have a giveaway!! ahah there is a sudden breakout of uk giveaways though-hahah!… and ahh love these bars!! i LOVE CHEWY and DENSE.. fav dried fruit?… hmm.. dates!

  7. I lovelovelove chewy cookies AND dried fruit so your granola bars look amazing! I’ve been meaning to try making my own bars for ages now as my Nakd habit is proving expensive – def gonna give this recipe a try this weekend. Thanks for posting it 😀

    p.s. I’m loving all the UK giveaways at the mo – looking forward to yours!

  8. Mmmm – those look so good! I’m totally a chewy person and I really want to make those. I love figs, and have been scooping up dried ones lately since fresh aren’t in season. Also love dried cherries!

  9. Oh my goodness, dried blueberries and apricots together, what a GREAT combo! These look great, dear!

  10. Thankd for the recipe, it looks great!

  11. I love dried fruit! These bars look amazing 🙂

  12. Yum! Granola bars are awesome to make because I like throwing random things in for great taste & texture. I love chewy things and dried cranberries.

  13. Thanks for sharing, I’m a lover of chewy bars too.. bookmarking this!

  14. […] and these chewy protein granola bars are amazing, if I do say so myself! Made these ones with canned pumpkin, dates, apricots and […]

Leave a Reply

