Socca Pizza and getting out of The Dark Ages

Howdy friends! Open-mouthed smile

I am SO happy!! I just bought something super exciting…you’ll see later in the post!!

ujydf

I started my morning in the best way- a run! Fuelled by my usual pre-run brekkie:

DSC06586

PB on toast topped with a sliced nanna

 

‘Easy’ run: 4 miles avg pace 7.59 min/mile + 5 hill sprints. So the hill sprints weren’t actually part of the plan, but I saw My Hill…st_andrews_road01 …and couldn’t resist! Smile with tongue out

Post-run, I had an amazing GM to refuel…DSC06588

…topped with coconut butter and this cereal that a lovely friend gave me:DSC06548

So delicious! Adding coconut butter to the mix and topping it with it was AMAZING!!DSC06589

Oh, by the way, reader request for a Green Monster 101 post coming up soon! Smile

htrs

So I have an awesome recipe for you lucky people today!! It was time to try out socca pizza for ma dinner! Ever since I made socca for the first time last week, I wanted to try this. And the results were DELISH!DSC06629

Socca Pizza

(serves 1 hungry person)

  • 1 cup gram (garbanzo bean) flour
  • 1 1/4 cups water, or 1/2 cup milk+3/4 cup water 
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast (optional)
  • Basil and rosemary for seasoning (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 200C/390F. Grease WELL a pizza pan (I used a pie plate)
  2. Mix together all ingredients and pour into pan.
  3. Bake for 35-40 mins until golden brown.
  4. Get friendly with your toppings and ENJOY!!

gtst

Pre-toppings:

DSC06623Okay, so I made the rookie mistake of not greasing my pie plate, so I couldn’t get out my pizza! Ooops! Embarrassed smile I ate it straight outta the pie plate instead! Smile with tongue out

Topped with tomato paste, vegan cheese, peppers and sliced cherry toms:

DSC06627

SO yummy, and tasted just like pizza, only better! Much healthier too- full of protein! Pizza cravings=satisfied Smile

hflr

Okay, so my big excitement of the day week month year so far?

DSC06616

Yeah, this is what happens when my momma gets behind the camera...she's not quite so good with technology! 😛

A FOOD PROCESSOR+LIQUIDISER!!DSC06619

Okay, so previously had been living in The Dark Ages, with a 100 year old blender that barely worked…and being on a student budget meant I couldn’t afford it before. BUT pay from a gig I did a while back came through today and I splurged! Open-mouthed smile

Only thing is…DSC06621

WHAT on earth does all THAT mean?! I hate instruction manuals…but I LOVE my new processor!! So preeeety…DSC06630

So if I ever figure out how to turn it on, you’ll see some awesome stuff on here soon! I have billions of recipes and ideas lined up already!! Open-mouthed smile

htrs

Tomorrow, I have such a busy day!! I’m hoping I’ll be able to get to the gym before church too…but I’ve never been good at getting up at 6am…we’ll see how that works out tomorrow! Smile with tongue out

gtrfd

Have you tried socca yet? If you haven’t, you MUST rectify it SOON because it’s not only DELICIOUS but super GOOD for ya! Socca pizza is possibly one of my favourite meals EVER!!

rfge

What was the last exciting purchase you made? TOTALLY this food processor for me!! Also the packet of chocolate chips I bought today was a source of great excitement too 🙂

jkuyf

And do you find it easy to get up really early for workouts? The problem for me is that I get to bed so late, so getting up before 7am means too little sleep!! But I love morning workouts when I can get them in- nothing better than a sweaty morning sesh! Winking smile

tgs

Enjoy the rest of your weekend lovelies!!

25 Responses

  1. Ah awesome! Food processors are the best, I only have a mini one though.
    Is the grass seriously that green there on the hill pic? Lucky you if it is!

  2. Ooh, I’m so jealous! I still have a Dark Ages blender 😉

    I did try Socca about ten days ago and loved it. A socca pizza is a fab idea and I love the proteinous nature of chickpea flour too.

    Your GMs always look so…green, where as mine are always rather sludgy hehe. Great speed/run too!

    I get up early because I have an obsession with running with the sunrise. And my tum doesn’t like running with food in it, so before brekkie is always the best option for me. I get to bed really late too…I should be sleeping rather than commenting 😉

    And, surprise surprise, the avocado cups are a recipe of Laura’s, and can be found here:

    http://keepingslimandgettingstylish.blogspot.com/2010/07/my-name-is-laura-and-im-chocaholic.html

    Only I’m not keen on walnuts so I used cashews.

    xxx

  3. You are going to come up with so many great recipes!! Can I request a hummus one from you?!!

    I got my 17 miles in. You are a speedy chick Emma! and, the hills–go get it!!

  4. i’m excited to see where your new kenwood leads u!

  5. My last exciting purchase was my Blentec blender! I LOVE it!! My kids love to make smoothies.
    I can’t stand waking up early, but that’s the time my hubby gives me to get a workout in….so I must take it. I’m also a pro beach volleyball player who homeschools and lives far from the beach. So if I want to get a workout in I have to get to the beach by 8am so I can get home to teach my children.
    Your processor looks AWESOME! Congrats!

  6. Socca pizza sounds delish.. I wonder if I have chickpea flour in at the moment…. hmmm

  7. I really want to try Socca! 🙂 hmmm last purchase from my BOYFRIEND (hehe not from myself) was a Kitchenaid mixerrrr!!!!!!!!!!!! YAYYY FOR PROCESSORS HAVE FUN WITH ITTT

  8. Ohhh nice new food processor! I LOVE socca. We tried it for the first time last night and I absolutely, positively fell in love with it.

    Last exciting thing I purchased was… groceries. I love going grocery shopping. I bought 2kg of almond flour, and 2kg of chickpea flour [Unlimited socca – yaaaay!]

  9. I just bought chickpea flour today, and I am SO excited to try it!

  10. AHH yes cant wait for my socca four to make pizza!! and garbanzo bean flour is full of protein right? score!!! i liked morning workouts AFTER breakkki hahah so around 9ish!

  11. Food processor + liquidiser = most important kitchen purchase ever! Congrats! 😀

    I don’t usually struggle to get up early for workouts — I often make it to the gym for 7.30. But if I stay up too late the night before then the session will be a bit pants. No speedwork for me on less than 6 hours sleep!

  12. I’ve been making socca for a good couple of weeks now, can’t imagine life without it! I was already planning a pizza style one at some point and tonights dinner is socca quesadilla style! Congrats on your purchase! Oh and I had a green monster so similar to yours this morning but using coconut flour sauce instead of coconut butter, great minds think alike! 🙂

  13. can I just tell you that that green bowl looks AWESOME! I dont know why I love my greens in a bowl, but I do! Nice run woman, you are speedy.

  14. You are gonna have soo much creative, cullinary fun with the Kenwood, exciting times garanteed(Enjoy Emma:)!

    Socca pizza sounds delish(says this chickpea enthusiast:) as does your GM with coconut butter:)

    Coconut Butter AKA as Organic Virgin Coconut Oil is soo incredible versatile being naturally antibacterial, antifungal and thus makes a superb hair conditioner, pre shaving cream, foot cream, body moisturizer and a sublime edible treat in itself.

  15. I’m looking forward to purchasing some organic almonds being a life-long ‘staple’ of mine(how sad am I?)!

  16. To go along with my socca fix….i’m def making socca pizza stat!

  17. Ohmygosh – I got a food processor for Christmas and I love it. My favorite ways to use it are for homemade nut butters, hummus, and Larabars! 🙂

  18. Going to try socca very soon – looks just my kind of thing!
    I bought a new running watch (just a cheapo one, nothing fancy, but still quite exciting!). I couldn’t work out the instructions and was about to throw the thing out of the window when my boyfriend took it and could work it straight away without instructions – it made me so mad! Lol!
    Looking forward to some recipes using your new gadget.

  19. I’ve never tried socca before…but that pizza looks so good!! Definitely the kind of dinner i would eat! That’s so awesome that you got a food processor, you’re going to love it!

  20. My exciting purchase was a handheld immersion blender. I was so excited that I forgot it at the store and had to go back for it later that night.

    I’ve never tried socca! I think I might try to make some this week!

  21. Nice blog! Using garbanzo flour in a pizza seems like a great idea!

  22. Yay! I get excited about kitchen appliances too! haha
    I have not tried socca. The latest buy (well technically not a buy since I redeemed points for it) is an Ipad! I am still waiting for it to come in! I don’t do early morning workouts, though I wish I did!

  23. Ooohh…a shiny, new food processor, how cool! I have a blender/food processor, but I’d like a bigger food processor. I have a wedding coming up, so I think it’s going on the registry! Can’t wait to see all your recipes!

    My last exciting purchase was a 1.5 Qt. casserole dish to make my baked oats this weekend. It’s such a cute little casserole dish – just enough for me!

Leave a Reply

